Vodacom Stormers team to play Vodacom Bulls announced

PUBLISHED: January 9, 2007

Vodacom Stormers coach Kobus Van Der Merwe announced a team of 26 players on Tuesday to play the Vodacom Bulls in a pre-season warm-up match at Loftus on Saturday. The match, which kicks off at 17h00, is being refereed by Marius Jonker. The match is not televised.

The Vodacom Stormers team will be led by Luke Watson, who will captain the side in 2007 after his successful berth as the Vodacom WP captain. He will be ably assisted by Jean De Villiers, who this week was nominated by his team mates to serve as the official vice-captain for 2007 for the Vodacom Stormers.

“We have selected a strong starting line-up vs the Bulls,” said Vodacom Stormers coach Kobus Van Der Merwe. “We don’t have a lot of time left before the competition starts, which is why I want to play my strongest combination against the Bulls.

“We have a very good squad this season, with a lot more depth, particularly amongst the backs. You obviously want to give everybody in the squad game time, so the rest of the guys will play against Boland,” explained Van der Merwe.

The Vodacom Stormers follow the Vodacom Bulls match with another pre-season warm up fixture against Boland in Wellington on Saturday 20 January. Two matches will be played, at 16h30 and 18h00 respectively. Tickets for this match are available from the Boland Rugby Union or at the gate on the day.

In other news, the Vodacom Stormers, who celebrate 10 years of rugby this year, will be meeting their young fans in the annual Club Newlands sleepover, which takes place at Newlands on Friday 12 January. Highlights of the event include a coaching clinic with the players.

The team is as follows:

15 Gio Aplon
14 Egon Seconds
13 Corne Uys
12 Jean De Villiers
11 Breyton Paulse
10 Brent Russell
9 Bolla Conradie
8 Joe Van Niekerk
7 Schalk Burger
6 Luke Watson
5 Andries Bekker
4 Selborne Boome
3 Eddie Andrews
2 Tiaan Liebenberg
1 Schalk Ferreira

16 Schalk Brits
17 JD Moller
18 Ross Skeate
19 Gerrie Britz
20 JP Joubert
21 Naas Olivier
22 Werner Greeff
23 Conrad Jantjes
24 Brok Harris
25 Robbie Diack
26 Pieter Louw