Vodacom Stormers name strong side for Force clash

PUBLISHED: January 21, 2010

Vodacom Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has had to make a late change to his team ahead of Saturday’s first Neo Africa Tri-Series clash at Newlands.

Captain Schalk Burger, who is suffering from a haematoma on his leg, will not be risked, as Pieter Myburgh gets the opportunity to gain match experience.

Myburgh, a specialist fetcher who made his Vodacom Super 14 debut in 2008, missed out in 2009 due to injury, and will be relishing the opportunity ahead of the tournament start.

Joe Pietersen, who scored two scintillating tries against the Force in the second last league fixture of the 2009 competition, is back at fifteen, with new recruits Bryan Habana and Jaque Fourie making their debuts for the Cape side.

Peter Grant will play in the number 10 jersey, and also assumes the role of vice captain. Andries Bekker will captain the side. Kick-off is at 5pm.

Vodacom Stormers team to play the Force is as follows:

15. Joe Pietersen
14. Gio Aplon
13. Jaque Fourie
12. Juan De Jongh
11. Bryan Habana
10. Peter Grant (VC)
9. Dewaldt Duvenage
8. Duane Vermeulen
7. Francois Louw
6. Pieter Myburgh
5. Andries Bekker (C)
4. De Kock Steenkamp
3. Brok Harris
2. Tiaan Liebenberg
1. Wicus Blaauw


16. Deon Fourie
17. JC Kritzinger
18. JD Moller
19. Anton Van Zyl
20. Jacque Potgieter
21. Pieter Louw
22. Bolla Conradie
23. Lionel Cronje
24. Sireli Naqelevuki
25. JJ Engelbrecht

Tickets are on sale at Computicket outlets nationwide for only R50 (seating), R20 (standing) and R10 (scholars enclosure). Stormers fans are urged not to wait until match day to purchase tickets.