Taute back for DHL Stormers

PUBLISHED: February 25, 2014

Jaco Taute has been named at fullback for the DHL Stormers’ first home game of the 2014 Vodacom Super Rugby season.

The DHL Stormers will host the Hurricanes at DHL Newlands on Friday (kick-off 19h10), with Taute joining the starting line-up at fullback and Gio Aplon shifting across to the wing.

Damian de Allende will move from the wing to partner skipper Jean de Villiers in the Stormers midfield, the latter shifting to the No.13 jersey and Michael van der Spuy dropping out of the matchday squad altogether.

The rest of the team is unchanged from the line-up that went down 10-34 to the Lions last Saturday, as head coach Allister Coetzee looks to maintain consistency in selection.

“Jaco Taute has got to play at some stage, whether you play him off the bench or start him he has got to play. That is the only way he will reach his best again,” said Coetzee.

“Jaco is experienced, he’s a Springbok, and with Gio Aplon able to play at wing it is a great opportunity for him to start in the 15 role.”

Looking ahead to Friday’s clash against the ‘Canes at DHL Newlands, Coetzee said: “I’ve learnt from this competition that you take nothing for granted, it is never easy. You have to take your opportunities.

“The Hurricanes have four All Blacks in the backline, that is where their strength is,” added the Stormers boss.

“We have to make sure we come up with a good performance. The Hurricanes, over the years, have never been scared to run the ball. That is their strength – as well as creating opportunities, with their ability to off-load – and will make it challenging for our defence.”

* Tickets for Friday can be purchased online at TicketPros, or from selected PostNet and Spar outlets/stores. Ticket prices start at R50 for standing, with seating prices ranging from R80 to R130. (See more here on ticketing for the weekend.)

** Patrons are also reminded of the stadium rules for DHL Newlands ahead of the new season. CLICK HERE for those stadium rules.

The DHL Stormers team for Friday (v the Hurricanes – kick-off 19h10) is as follows:

15. Jaco Taute
14. Kobus van Wyk
13. Jean de Villiers (captain)
12. Damian de Allende
11. Gio Aplon
10. Demetri Catrakilis
9. Louis Schreuder
8. Duane Vermeulen
7. Schalk Burger (vice-captain)
6. Siya Kolisi
5. Manuel Carizza
4. Rynhardt Elstadt
3. Frans Malherbe
2. Scarra Ntubeni
1. Steven Kitshoff

16. Deon Fourie
17. Oliver Kebble
18. Pat Cilliers
19. Michael Rhodes
20. Nizaam Carr
21. Nic Groom
22. Kurt Coleman
23. Ryno Eksteen

Referee: Steve Walsh