Stormers to face Cobra’s in the Pick ‘n Pay Newlands Challenge

PUBLISHED: January 13, 2010

Vodacom Stormers captain Schalk Burger and Nashua Cape Cobra’s coach Shukri Conrad today announced their squads for the annual 20/20 style cricket match at Sahara Park Newlands on Sunday 17 January 2010. The match will start at 12h00.

Cricket and rugby fans can expect a fun filled family day, with Cape Town’s two soccer teams Ajax Cape Town and Santos forming part of the activities during the lunch time break, bringing together four of Cape Town’s big professional sporting teams.

The Nashua Cape Cobra’s, who have a fixture on Friday night, have put together a provisional squad featuring the likes of Justin Kemp, Justin Ontong and Charl Langeveldt to defend their home turf and the Pick ‘n Pay Newlands Challenge title. In addition to these popular names, KFm Breakfast radio presenter Ryan O’ Connor will also feature in the Cobras outfit.

The Vodacom Stormers have announced a provisional squad of 19 players. Hooker Tiaan Liebenberg, who turned heads the last time these two teams met in 2008, is once again expected to play an integral role in the Vodacom Stormers line-up. The Vodacom Stormers squad also features new recruits Fabian Juries, Lionel Cronje, Bryan Habana and Jaque Fourie. Coach Allister Coetzee and Fitness and Conditioning Coach Greg Hecther have also made the cut.

Both teams will announce their final match line-up’s on Sunday, when they take to the field. The rugby side will be allowed to field 15 players, with 11 in the batting line-up.

The Vodacom Stormers squad is as follows:

1. Tiaan Liebenberg
2. Brok Harris
3. Wicus Blaauw
4. Andries Bekker
5. De Kock Steenkamp
6. Schalk Burger
7. Dewaldt Duvenage
8. Willem De Waal
9. Duane Vermeulen
10. Lionel Cronjé
11. Fabian Juries
12. Gio Aplon
13. Frikkie Welsh
14. Bryan Habana
15. Jaque Fourie
16. Allister Coetzee
17. Greg Hechter
18. Joe Pietersen
19. Anton van Zyl

The Nashua Cape Cobras squad is as follows:

1. Andrew Puttick
2. Stiaan Van Zyl
3. Justin Kemp
4. Richard Levi
5. Justin Ontong
6. Sybrand Engelbrecht
7. Charl Langeveldt
8. Vernon Philander
9. Robin Peterson
10. Rory Kleinveldt
11. Neil Carter
12. Francios Plaatjies
13. Monde Zondeki
14. Ryan O’ Connor

Umpires: Jonathan Kaplan and Shukri Conrad

Tickets for the match are available from Computicket outlets nationwide or from the Sahara Park Ticket office (021 657 2049/89). Prices are R30 for adults and R15 for children under 16. Gates open at 9h30, with the match starting at 12h00.