Stars descend upon Cape Town

PUBLISHED: June 2, 2014

International stars from around the world, Wallabies Matt Giteau, James O’Connor, Drew Mitchell and All Blacks Hosea Gear, Carl Hayman, Andrew Hore and Jimmy Cowan, have all been confirmed in the 23-man Samsung World XV squad to play South Africa at DHL Newlands on Saturday, June 7.

And joining them against the Springboks will be France’s Francois Trinh-Duc – the highest points-scorer in the French Top 14 – and back row forward Alexandre Lapandry.

Five players from Toulon’s double winning European Cup and French Top 14 side will also feature in the World XV squad – including Steffon Armitage from England, who was recently voted European Player of the Year.

The squad boasts 621 international caps in all, from nine countries – Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, France, England, Ireland, Samoa, Tonga and Georgia – giving a truly global feel to the squad.

Taking charge of the squad’s preparations will be former Springbok coach Nick Mallett, who will be assisted by Alan Solomons – both of whom know DHL Newlands and South African rugby very well.

Nick Mallett commented: “As well as assigning an international flavour to the Samsung World XV squad, it was also decided by the coaching and management team, to give both a number of international and on-form non-international South African club players, currently excelling overseas and nationally, the opportunity to play in the Test arena on their beloved home soil against the Springboks.

“These Internationals include Alistair Hargreaves (Saracens), Juandré Kruger (Racing Metro) and Wynand Olivier (Montpellier) and non-internationals in the form of Rory Kockott (Castres), Craig Burden (Toulon), Schalk Ferreira (Toulouse) and young prop Julian Redelinghuys from the Lions.”

* Tickets for Saturday’s match – priced at R250 and R350 for seating and R75 for standing places – are available from PostNet outlets nationwide, the DHL Newlands ticket office or online from www.ticketpros.co.za.

DHL Newlands eason ticket holders had until May 7 to secure their regular seats but you can still contact the WP Rugby ticket office (021-6594600) for further information.

The World XV squad (v Springboks) is as follows:

Alexandre Lapandry (Loose forward)
Roger Wilson (Loose forward)
Steffon Armitage (Loose forward)
Mamuka Gorgodze (Loose forward)
Iosefa (Joe) Tekori (Lock)
Alistair Hargreaves (Lock)
Juandré Kruger (Lock)
Andrew Hore (Hooker)
Craig Burden (Hooker)
Fakaanaua (Sona) Taumalolo (Prop)
Julian Redelinghuys (Prop)
Carl Hayman (Prop)
Schalk Ferreira (Prop)

Drew Mitchell (Fullback/wing)
James O’Connor (Fullback/wing)
Hosea Gear (Wing)
Wynand Olivier (Centre)
Benson Stanley (Centre)
Rene Ranger (Centre/wing)
Francois Trinh-Duc (Flyhalf/centre)
Matthew Giteau (Flyhalf)
Rory Kockott (Scrumhalf)
Jimmy Cowan (Scrumhalf)