Senatla to wing it for DHL Stormers

PUBLISHED: May 21, 2015

DHL Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has announced his team for Saturday’s Vodacom Super Rugby clash against the Rebels at DHL Newlands (kick-off 19h10), with SA Sevens star Seabelo Senatla named to start.

Senatla will start in the No.14 jersey – with Johnny Kotze missing out – in one of just three changes from the starting XV that beat the Brumbies at DHL Newlands a fortnight ago.

DHL Stormers coach Allister Coetzee told the www.iamastormer.com website: “It’s great to welcome Seabelo back from SA Sevens duty, as he did for us last season (before also going on to play in the Absa Currie Cup).

“He’s keen and excited to get stuck back in, as he said when he arrived back in the country, and Seabelo knows what we expect from him and why we have selected him – after all, he is quality player and he trained well today.

“Johnny Kotze has done remarkably well for us, as a stand-in No.14 for us, and I’m pleased with his attitude and work ethic. But, in the same breath, Seabelo is an out and out winger and we look forward to seeing how he goes.

“As the season nears its business-end, it’s nice to be able to build our squad capacity,” added Coetzee.

“(Flanker) Mike Rhodes must still come back and so too (winger) Kobus van Wyk and of course Seabelo is now back with us – these are essentially nice and healthy problems to have.”

In other changes, meanwhile, Louis Schreuder comes in for Nic Groom at scrumhalf and Scarra Ntubeni will start at hooker ahead of Bongi Mbonambi.

“The Rebels have beaten the Crusaders and the Brumbies away this year, so it shows their capacity as a team,” warned Coetzee.

“We need to pitch up for this weekend’s match – we need to bring attitude and ensure our physicality is spot-on. This is a much-improved Rebels team; they’re well-coached and we know we’re in for a tough time of it on Saturday.”

* Match tickets, priced between R80 and R140, can still be purchased ahead of Saturday’s matches at DHL Newlands – with DHL Western Province hosting the Blue Bulls in the 2015 Vodacom Cup semifinals beforehand (kick-off 16h30) – either online, at http://wprugby.computicket.com, or from Computicket outlets and Shoprite & Checkers stores nationwide.

The DHL Stormers team to face the Rebels (home) is as follows:

15. Cheslin Kolbe
14. Seabelo Senatla
13. Juan de Jongh (vice-captain)
12. Damian de Allende
11. Dillyn Leyds
10. Demetri Catrakilis
9. Louis Schreuder
8. Duane Vermeulen (captain)
7. Siya Kolisi
6. Schalk Burger
5. Manuel Carizza
4. Eben Etzebeth
3. Frans Malherbe
2. Scarra Ntubeni
1. Steven Kitshoff

16. Bongi Mbonambi
17. Ali Vermaak
18. Vincent Koch
19. Jean Kleyn
20. Nizaam Carr
21. Nic Groom
22. Kurt Coleman
23. Huw Jones

Referee: Stuart Berry (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Quinton Immelman (South Africa), Rodney Boneparte (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)