Pre-season double-header in Wellington

PUBLISHED: February 1, 2018

Both the DHL Stormers and a DHL Western Province Invitational team will be in action in a pre-season double-header at Boland Park in Wellington on Saturday.

The DHL Stormers squad will take on the Vodacom Bulls at 16h00 in their final warm-up match before their Vodacom Super Rugby campaign kicks off, against the Jaguares at DHL Newlands on February 17.

DHL Western Province Invitational will face Boland Elite, in a curtain-raiser at 13h50, with the action getting underway with an early local club match at Boland Stadium.

The likes of Steven Kitshoff, Bongi Mbonambi, Wilco Louw, Jan de Klerk, Dewaldt Duvenage, Justin Phillips, Damian Willemse, EW Viljoen, and Dillyn Leyds have been included in the 28-man DHL Stormers squad, after missing the previous pre-season clash with SWD Eagles in George.

The DHL Western Province Invitational match against Boland Elite will allow the DHL Stormers management to get a good look at the depth available to them, with two players – Salmaan Moerat and Josh Stander – set for gametime in both matches in Wellington on Saturday.

Players that were not available for selection due to injury include Ali Vermaak (hamstring), Scarra Ntubeni (hamstring), Frans Malherbe (neck), Eben Etzebeth (shoulder), Pieter-Steph du Toit (back), Siya Kolisi (hamstring), Juarno Augustus (neck), Jano Vermaak (knee), Jean-Luc du Plessis (hip), Dan du Plessis (shoulder) and SP Marais (toe).

Seabelo Senatla and Sikhumbuzo Notshe are away on Springbok Sevens duty and Nizaam Carr is being rested having recently returned from a loan spell with London Wasps.

DHL Stormers Head Coach Robbie Fleck said that the players are looking forward to testing themselves against the Vodacom Bulls before the campaign gets underway.

“The players have worked very hard in the pre-season, so this match will give us a good chance to get some competitive game-time under our belts.

“We want to ensure that our players are up to speed, so that we can be at our best at the start of what will be another demanding season,” he said.

Tickets are available from Webtickets at R100 for adults and R75 for scholars and will also be available at the gate at R120 for adults and R80 for scholars.

DHL Stormers squad:

Forwards: Jaco Coetzee, Jan de Klerk, Stephan de Wit, Johan du Toit, JC Janse van Rensberg, Steven Kitshoff, Wilco Louw, Bongi Mbonambi, Salmaan Moerat, Carlu Sadie, Ramone Samuels, JD Schickerling, Chris van Zyl, Kobus van Dyk, Cobus Wiese.

Backs: Craig Barry, Damian de Allende, Dewaldt Duvenage, Dan Kriel, Eduan Keyter, Dillyn Leyds, Justin Phillips, Sergeal Petersen, Raymond Rhule, Josh Stander, EW Viljoen, George Whitehead, Damian Willemse.