Late Fourie blow for DHL Stormers

PUBLISHED: May 30, 2014

The DHL Stormers have left for Durban without all-action forward Deon Fourie, after he failed a late concussion test. Fourie will thus miss his team’s Vodacom Super Rugby game against the Sharks tomorrow.

Fourie took a blow to the head during last week’s comprehensive 33-0 win over the Cheetahs and was initially passed fit to face up to the table-topping Sharks this weekend.

However, he began showing symptoms later in the week and failed a concussion test late on Thursday – thereby ruling him out of action.

Stephan Coetzee (pictured, above) will start in Fourie’s place at hooker, with the uncapped Michael Willemse coming on to the bench. Coetzee will be making his first Super Rugby start, after five appearances from the bench this season, whilst Willemse will be hoping for a first-ever taste of action at this level.

Both Coetzee and Willemse were members of the all-conquering DHL Western Province Under-21 team last season, along with locks Ruan Botha and Jean Kleyn and another debutant, loosehead prop Sti Sithole.

All five of them now find themselves in a DHL Stormers matchday squad at the same time.

The following DHL Stormers players are not available for selection at present: Props Steven Kitshoff, Oli Kebble, Brok Harris and Frans Malherbe, hookers Deon Fourie, Scarra Ntubeni and Tiaan Liebenberg, locks Eben Etzebeth, Jurie van Vuuren, De Kock Steenkamp, Rynhardt Elstadt and Gerbrandt Grobler, flank Schalk Burger, scrumhalves Louis Schreuder and Godlen Masimla, centre Jean de Villiers, wing Kobus van Wyk and fullbacks Gio Aplon and Ryno Eksteen.

The revised DHL Stormers team for Saturday (v the Sharks, 19h10) is as follows:
(Changes in bold)

15. Jaco Taute
14. Cheslin Kolbe
13. Juan de Jongh
12. Damian de Allende
11. Sailosi Tagicakibau
10. Kurt Coleman
9. Nic Groom
8. Duane Vermeulen (captain)
7. Siya Kolisi
6. Nizaam Carr
5. Ruan Botha
4. Michael Rhodes
3. Pat Cilliers
2. Stephan Coetzee (Super Rugby starting debut for the DHL Stormers)
1. Alistair Vermaak

16. Michael Willemse (On Super Rugby debut for the DHL Stormers)
17. Sti Sithole (On Super Rugby debut for the DHL Stormers)
18. Martin Dreyer
19. Jean Kleyn
20. Manuel Carizza
21. Dylon Frylinck
22. Demetri Catrakilis
23. Peter Grant

Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)