Kolisi SA’s sporting newcomer

PUBLISHED: November 5, 2012

DHL Western Province and Stormers star Siya Kolisi walked off with the Newcomer of the Year Award at the SA Sports Awards in Sandton on Sunday evening.

The 21-year-old flank made his DHL Stormers debut this year, playing in 16 of his team’s 17 matches and also scoring one try.

He received his Springbok call-up this year too but did not feature in any matches. He was, however, on the brink of a call-up to the national Test side only to suffer a season-ending thumb injury on Absa Currie Cup duty for DHL WP.

In the Coach of the Year category, Banyana Banyana’s Joseph Mkhonza walked away with the spoils, edging out DHL Stormers and WP boss Allister Coetzee who guided his team’s to the SA Conference title (Super Rugby) and the Absa Currie Cup title.

Meanwhile, Olympic sensation Chad le Clos was named the South African Sports Star of the Year for 2012, with Cobras and Proteas cricket star Vernon Philander and athlete Caster Semenya walking off with the Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year Awards, respectively.


Sports Star of the Year: Chad le Clos (Swimming)

Sportsman of the Year: Vernon Philander (Cricket)

Sportswoman of the Year: Caster Semenya (Athletics)

Coach of the Year: Joseph Mkhonza (Football)

Sportswoman of the Year with Disability: Natalie du Toit (Swimming)

Sportsman of the Year with Disability: Oscar Pistorius (Athletics)

Federation of the Year: Rowing

Team of the Year: Rowing

Administrator of the Year: Wimpie du Plessis (Rowing)

Newcomer of the Year: Siya Kolisi (Rugby)

Volunteer of the Year: Sondiso Magajana (Judo)

School Team of the Year: Ithembelihle High (Rugby)

Journalist of the Year: Velile Mbuli

Photographer of the Year: Sydney Seshibedi

Recreation Body of the Year: Vakhegula (Vakhegula Football)

Steve Tshwete Lifetime Award 2012: Elijah Tap Tap Makhithini (Boxing), Papwa Sewgolum Sewsunker (Golf), Sam Ramsamy, Petros Molemela (Football), Sally Little (Golf), Joost van der Westhuizen (Rugby).

Green Jacket Recipients for 2012: Matthews Motshwareteu (Athletics), Blanche Moila (Athletics), Grant Khomo Was bestowed with order of Ikhamanga (Cricket, Rugby, Football and Tennis), Nelson Teenage Dladla (Football).