FEATURED

Kitshoff to face SANZAR hearing

PUBLISHED: March 24, 2013



Following initial consideration by the SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Jannie Lubbe SC, DHL Stormers prop Steven Kitshoff will appear at a judicial hearing after being cited for alleged foul play.

Kitshoff is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (e), ‘Dangerous Tackling’, when he made contact with Brumbies flyhalf Matt Toomua in a tackle. The incident occurred in the 61st minute of Saturday’s match between the DHL Stormers and Brumbies at DHL Newlands – a game won 35-22 by the home side.

The referee for the match, Glen Jackson, acted upon the incident during the match by awarding a penalty. However, upon further review of the match footage, the citing commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play.

The Judicial Officer for Kitshoff’s hearing will be Adam Casselden. The hearing will be held by video conference at 09h00 SAST, 18h00 AEDT and 20h00 NZDT on Monday, March 25.

Kitshoff, 21, has played 24 Super Rugby games for the DHL Stormers since his debut in 2011.