Jaguares name strong tour squad

PUBLISHED: February 9, 2016

The Jaguares from Argentina have named a squad including a host of internationals ahead of their pre-season friendly against the DHL Stormers at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

The Vodacom Super Rugby newcomers have named a 34-man squad for their trip to South Africa which is littered with players who featured for the Argentina side which came fourth at the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

The side will be led by Pumas captain Agustín Creevy, and also features the likes of elusive wing Santiago Cordero, tough flank Juan Manuel Leguizamón and flyhalf Nicolás Sánchez.

The clash at DHL Newlands will be the team’s first-ever match on South African soil, so they will be looking to make a big impression.

“It is a great challenge that lies ahead,” Jaguares coach Raul Perez said. “The two friendlies against the Stormers and Lions will be a true test.”

Tickets are R50 each with season tickets not valid for the game. Tickets are available from any Computicket outlet, via www.iamastormer.com and from the stadium box office. The match will not be televised.

Jaguares squad: Matias Alemanno, Felipe Arregui, Gabriel Ascarate, Rodrigo Baez, Cristian Bartolini, Gonzalo Bertranou, Emiliano Boffelli, Thomas Carrió, Santiago Cordero, Agustín Creevy, Jerónimo De la Fuente, Felipe Ezcurra, Santiago García Botta, Santiago González Iglesias, Ramiro Herrera, Santiago Iglesias Valdez, Facundo Isa, Martin Landajo, Ignacio Larrague, Thomas Lavanini, Juan Manuel Leguizamón, Thomas Lezana, Pablo Matera, Julian Montoya, Matías Moroni, Ramiro Moyano, Lucas Noguera, Matías Orlando, Javier Ortega Desio, Guido Petti, Nicolás Sánchez, Leonardo Senatore, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Joaquín Tuculet.