Investec Stormers team announced

PUBLISHED: March 2, 2005

Investec Stormers coach Gert Smal today announced seven changes to the side that trounced the Sharks on Friday for their Super 12 match against the Highlanders in Invercargill on Saturday.

Gerrie Britz, who played at lock against the Sharks, will be turning out at flank in place of Schalk Burger. The latter is in London to take part in the game in aid of the Tsunami victims. Andries Bekker, son of former Springbok Hennie, will be making his Super 12 debut at lock in place of Britz.

Rob Linde will be the second member of a brand new lock combination. He replaces Quinton Davids, who will do bench duty.

Britz said he was ready to pack down at flank, although he acknowledged that the Stormers will mis Burger. “We all know how high his work rate is and how he works in the tight loose. We will have to put in some effort to maintain his high standards.”

The player said moving from lock to flank would not be too much of a disruption. “I played at flank for the first four years of my provincial career at the Cheetahs. It’s only been the last two seasons that I’ve been moved to lock.”

In two other changes to the front row, JD Moller and Hanyani Shimange replaces Pieter Dixon at hooker and Eddie Andrews at prop respectively. It will be Shimange’s Super 12 debut after moving to Cape Town from Bloemfontein. He, however, played the game here as a schoolboy.

Fit again Tonderai Chavhanga is back in the side after missing out last Friday night. He has recovered from knee trouble and takes over at the left wing from Springbok Jean de Villiers. De Villiers, who scored a try last week, moves inside to outside centre, where he replaces fellow Bok Marius Joubert.

Chris Rossouw, who missed a big portion of last year’s rugby season due to a shoulder injury, is also back on the substitutes’ bench.

Kick-off is at 17h30 (NZ time) – 06h30 SA time. The game will be televised on M-Net (SS1)

The Investec Stormers team is as follows:
15. Werner Greeff
14. Breyton Paulse
13. Jean De Villiers
12. De Wet Barry
11. Tonderai Chavhanga
10. Gaffie Du Toit
9. Neil De Kock (C)
8. Joe Van Niekerk
7. Gerrie Britz
6. Luke Watson
5. Andries Bekker
4. Rob Linde
3. Faan Rautenbach
2. Hanyani Shimange
1. JD Moller
16. Pieter Dixon
17. Eddie Andrews
18. Quinton Davids
19. Adri Badenhorst
20. Bolla Conradie
21. Chris Rossouw
22. Marius Joubert.