Harris leads DHL Stormers in Northampton friendly

PUBLISHED: March 7, 2024

Experienced prop Brok Harris will lead the DHL Stormers in a friendly encounter with Northampton Saints at cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens on Saturday.

The DHL Stormers will face the Gallagher Premiership log-leaders for the first time in a groundbreaking match, which kicks off at 16h30 (SAST) on Saturday.

The match will be streamed live on the Northampton Saints Youtube channel SaintsTV. CLICK HERE to access SaintsTV.

Harris is joined by hooker JJ Kotze and Sazi Sandi in the front row, with Connor Evans and Gary Porter the lock pairing.

Keke Morabe is at the back of the scrum, with Willie Engelbrecht and Junior Pokomela on the flanks.

There are seven more forwards on an extended bench, with rolling substitutions set to see all 26 players get gametime.

Springbok fullback Warrick Gelant will link up with wings Ben Loader and Chris Hollis at the back, while Dan du Plessis and Wandisile Simelane form an exciting midfield partnership.

The promising Jurie Matthee will be at flyhalf, with the experienced Stefan Ungerer at scrumhalf.

The 11-man bench also has the versatile Hacjivah Dayimani down as backline cover, along with the likes of Suleiman Hartzenberg and talented young centre Damian Markus.

DHL Stormers Head Coach John Dobson said that the squad is looking forward to the experience of playing at one of the great English rugby venues against a top side.

“We have seen Northampton on top form this season in both the Gallagher Premiership and Investec Champions Cup, so this will be a great test for all 26 players involved on Saturday.

“cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens is a renowned rugby venue and we hope to play our part in what should be a highly entertaining friendly between two sides who both have a natural attacking instinct,” he said.

DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Chris Hollis, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Ben Loader, 10 Jurie Matthee, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Keke Morabe, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Willie Engelbrecht, 5 Connor Evans, 4 Gary Porter, 3 Sazi Sandi, 2 JJ Kotze, 1 Brok Harris (captain).
Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Scarra Ntubeni, 20 Ben-Jason Dixon, 21 Nama Xaba, 22 Marcel Theunissen, 23 Godlen Masimla, 24 Hacjivah Dayimani, 25 Damian Markus, 26 Suleiman Hartzenberg.