Fourie leads DHL Stormers in Pretoria

PUBLISHED: March 1, 2024

Deon Fourie returns as captain of the DHL Stormers for the Vodacom United Rugby Championship North-South encounter with the Vodacom Bulls in Pretoria on Saturday.

The experienced flank is joined by fellow Springboks Damian Willemse and Manie Libbok in making their return from a resting period for the South African derby, which kicks off at 17h05 on Saturday at Loftus Versfeld.

Round 11 of the Vodacom United Rugby Championship is another Origin Round and will see the team wear the socks of their schools once again in tribute to all those who played such a key role in their rugby journey.

Dan du Plessis has recovered from an ankle injury and will take his place in midfield alongside Willemse, while Herschel Jantjies will partner Libbok at halfback.

There are just two changes to the starting forward pack that did duty in the win against the Hollywoodbets Sharks a fortnight ago, with Fourie on the side of the scrum and Sti Sithole in the front row at loosehead prop.

Brok Harris and Sazi Sandi are the props on a replacements bench which also features the likes of Marcel Theunissen and Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, who started in Durban.

DHL Stormers Head Coach John Dobson said that his team is looking forward to what should be a great occasion.

“A North-South showdown at a packed Loftus Versfeld is something for everyone in South African rugby to get excited about and we are looking forward to playing our part.

“It is great to have some of our Boks back for this one and while we would have loved to include Frans Malherbe too, he will unfortunately need a little longer to be at the peak of his considerable powers.

“There were some tough selection decisions to make for this game and the players involved are all up for what should be another classic,” he said.

DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant (Hoerskool Outeniqua), 14 Ben Loader (Wellington College), 13 Dan du Plessis (Paul Roos), 12 Damian Willemse (Paul Roos), 11 Leolin Zas (Hermanus High), 10 Manie Libbok (Hoerskool Outeniqua), 9 Herschel Jantjies (Paul Roos), 8 Hacjivah Dayimani (Jeppe), 7 Evan Roos (Paarl Boys), 6 Deon Fourie (captain, Hoerskool Pietersburg), 5 Ruben van Heerden (Affies), 4 Adre Smith (Oakdale), 3 Neethling Fouche (Grey College), 2 Joseph Dweba (HTS Louis Botha), 1 Sti Sithole (Westville).
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter (Grey College), 17 Brok Harris (Bastion), 18 Sazi Sandi (St Andrews), 19 Salmaan Moerat (Paarl Boys), 20 Ben-Jason Dixon (Paul Roos), 21 Marcel Theunissen (Grey College), 22 Paul de Wet (Paarl Boys), 23 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu (Bishops).