Force face Sharks at Newlands tonight

PUBLISHED: January 26, 2010

Western Force coach John Micthell on Monday announced a strong side to take on the Sharks in the 2nd match of the Neo Africa Tri-Series on Tuesday night (tonight) at Newlands.

Mitchell explained he wanted go give all the players in his squad at least 80 minutes of rugby before the Super 14 kicks off and that was why he started with a number of his less experienced players against the Vodacom Stormers last Saturday.

Tonight’s game line-up includes Wallabies whizz kid James O Connor at fullback, whilst Ryan Cross and Sam Harris will be the midfield combination and Cameron Shepherd is at left wing. Former Springbok and Lions flyhalf André Pretorius will be making his debut for the Force after sitting out the game against the Stormers, with Brett Sheehan as his halfback partner. No 8 Richard Brown, flank David Pocock, prop Matt Dunning and lock and captain Nathan Sharpe provide steel to the pack.

Supporters stand a chance of of winning the match jerseys of Bryan Habana, Jaque Fourie, John Smit and Nathan Sharpe – signed by the players themselves ­ during half time on Tuesday night.

Then, watch the Vodacom Stormers take on the Sharks in the final Neo Africa Tri-Series match on Friday 29 January at 7pm.

Tickets are on sale now at Computicket Outlets Nationwide

Western Force:

15. James O’Connor
14. Dane Haylett-Petty
13. Ryan Cross
12. Sam Harris
11. Cameron Shepherd
10. Andre Pretorius
9. Brett Sheehan
8. Richard Brown
7. David Pocock (VC)
6. Matt Hodgson
5. Nathan Sharpe (C)
4. Sam Wykes
3. Matt Dunning
2. Ryan Tyrrell
1. Kieran Longbottom


16. Ben Whittaker
17. Nic Henderson
18. Tom Hockings
19. Ben McCalman
20. Chris O’Young
21. Mitch Inman
22. Mark Bartholomeusz
23. Mark Swanepoel
24. Josh Tatupu
25. Joelin Rapana
26. Tim Fairbrother
27. TBA
28. Richard Stanford