DHL Stormers trio released to play in Europe

PUBLISHED: June 23, 2018

DHL Stormers players Nizaam Carr, Dewaldt Duvenage and Raymond Rhule have all been released early from their contracts to pursue opportunities abroad.

Loose forward Carr, scrumhalf Duvenage and wing Rhule will all leave the DHL Stormers at the end of the current Vodacom Super Rugby season, to join European clubs.

Carr, who came through the age-group ranks and finishes his time at DHL Newlands with just short of 100 DHL Stormers caps, will join English Premiership club Wasps.

Duvenage, who also played age-group rugby for DHL Western Province and made his DHL Stormers debut back in 2009, ends his second stint at DHL Newlands with over 90 caps for the DHL Stormers in total as he heads to Italian club Benetton Treviso.

Rhule joined the DHL Stormers at the start of the season and has scored five tries in his 12 appearances. He will join DHL Stormers prop JC Janse van Rensburg at French side Grenoble.

Director of Rugby Gert Smal said that all three players were granted early release from their contracts with the DHL Stormers.

“We appreciate what Nizaam, Dewaldt and Raymond have all contributed in their time here and wish them all the best for their future.

“Nizaam and Dewaldt both came through the system here and have been stalwarts for us over the years, while Raymond added another string to our bow this season.

“We are continously looking at strengthening our depth and will look to bring in quality players who can add value and improve our squad going forward,” he said.

Western Province Rugby Group CEO Paul Zacks said that the decision to release these players early was taken with their best interests at heart.

“We are glad that we could reach an agreement that benefitted all parties and wish to thank all three players for their efforts at DHL Newlands.

“Their departure will create further opportunities for the next generation of stars currently within our structures, while the likes of Siya Kolisi, Eben Etzebeth, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Bongi Mbonambi, Wilco Louw, Steven Kitshoff, Frans Malherbe, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Damian de Allende and Dillyn Leyds remain contracted until 2019 and beyond,” he said.

Western Province Rugby Football Union President, Mr Thelo Wakefield, wished all three players well in their future endeavours.

“We thank Nizaam, Dewaldt and Raymond for their service here and wish them all of the best in Europe,” he said.