DHL Stormers top the combined log

PUBLISHED: July 14, 2012

The DHL Stormers finished the league phase of Super Rugby 2012 undefeated at home, having won 14 from 16 starts in the competition.

With the SA Conference trophy sown up last week already in Bloemfontein, the DHL Stormers racked up victory number 14, with a 26-21 win over the Rebels at DHL Newlands, to finish the league phase of the competition number 1 on the combined log.

Whilst not happy with the performance today coach Allister Coetzee gave credit to his players and management team, “We handled the pressure and took the win required to top the log. It’s tough to win this conference and to win the trophy twice in a row is something. Topping the log is a first for any Stormers team and I am proud of the boys. We will enjoy tonight and then there is some hard work ahead over the next 2 weeks.”

The Rebels put up a spirited performance in the game, playing with plenty of heart and there were a few tense moments for the Faithful. The match was a swansong for veterans Stirling Mortlock, Mark Gerrard and Julian Huxley and there were some great moments after the game when the Faithful heartily congratulated Mortlock as Jean De Villiers presented him with a signed Stormers jersey.

Standouts on the night were Juan de Jongh who dotted down twice and hooker Deon Fourie hooker who played a starring role at 8, making some crucial turnovers, carrying well and even taking a line-out ball.


DHL Stormers:
Tries: De Jongh 2
Conversions: Grant 2
Penalties: Grant 4

Tries: Blake, Phipps, Vuna
Conversions: Huxley 3


STORMERS: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Deon Fourie, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: 16 Brok Harris, 17 Deon Carstens, 18 Quinn Roux, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Louis Schrueder, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Gerhard van den Heever.

MELBOURNE REBELS: 15 Julian Huxley, 14 Mark Gerrard, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 Stirling Mortlock (captain), 11 Lachlan Mitchell, 10 James Hilgendorf, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve, 7 Hugh Perrett, 6 Tim Davidson, 5 Hugh Pyle, 4 Cadeyrn Neville, 3 Jono Owen, 2 Ged Robinson, 1 Rodney Blake.

Replacements: 16 Luke Holmes, 17 Paul Alo-Emile, 18 Alister Campbell, 19 Ryan Hodson, 20 Nic Stirzaker, 21 Cooper Vuna, 22 Richard Kingi.

Referee: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)

Assistant referees: Mark Lawrence (South Africa), Christie du Preez (South Africa)

TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

Semi Final Ticket Information – Prices and full ticket information will be posted on our platforms, lunchtime, Monday 16 July. Season tickets and suite tickets are valid for the game.