DHL Stormers too strong for Blues at DHL Newlands

PUBLISHED: March 17, 2018

The DHL Stormers scored four tries on their way to an impressive 37-20 win against the Blues at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

It was back to winning ways for the DHL Stormers in front of the DHL Newlands Faithful, making it two wins from their two home games so far this season.

The home side started with real intent as the DHL Newlands Faithful got right behind them in the early stages and they did not have to wait long for the opening try as EW Viljoen was put over the tryline by JJ Engelbrecht after the forwards had gone straight up the middle to set it up.

They back that up with a great counter-attack try as a kick-return from Dillyn Leyds saw Pieter-Steph du Toit go charging away in front of the grandstand before getting the pass away to Raymond Rhule who turned on the pace to finish and make it 14-0.

The Blues got on the scoreboard with a penalty from flyhalf Brynn Gatland, but the DHL Stormers responded with a penalty of their own from Damian Willemse.

The third try came just before half-time as scrumhalf Dewaldt Duvenage sniped over between the poles after some patient work from the forwards.

That saw the DHL Stormers take a commanding 24-3 lead into the break after a clinica first-half display.

The visitors scored their first try at the start of the second half, as No.8 Akira Ioane went over from the back on an attacking scrum.

The DHL Stormers struck back when a loose ball in the 22 was picked up by Engelbrecht who raced away before being hauled down just in front of the tryline, with Viljoen on hand again to cross for his second try.

The Blues were fighting hard and although the DHL Stormers came close to adding another try, they would be next to score as fullback Michael Collins forced his way over.

Penalties from Willemse either side of a try from Blues centre Rieko Ioane saw the DHL Stormers claim a comfortable victory in the end.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Tries: Viljoen 2, Rhule, Duvenage
Cons: Willemse 4
Pens: Willemse 2

For Blues:
Tries: A Ioane, Collins, R Ioane
Con: Perofeta
Pen: Gatland

DHL Stormers: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 JJ Engelbrecht, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Damian De Allende, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Jan de Klerk, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Ramone Samuels, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Dean Muir, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Cobus Wiese, 21 Jaco Coetzee, 22 Paul de Wet, 23 Craig Barry.

Blues: 15 Michael Collins, 14 Matt Duffie, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Melani Nanai, 10 Bryn Gatland, 9 Sam Nock, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Antonio Kiri Kiri, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Ofa Tuungafasi, 2 James Parsons (captain), 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Replacements: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Ross Wright, 18 Mike Tamoaieta, 19 Jimmy Tupou, 20 Murphy Taramai, 21 Jonathan Ruru, 22 Stephen Perofeta, 23 George Moala.