DHL Stormers stars in SA Stats XV

PUBLISHED: July 6, 2015

With Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer set to name his first team of the season, the Vodacom Rugby App has made its own calculations to produce the SA Stats XV from all 16 rounds of this year’s Vodacom Super Rugby tournament.

The Vodacom Rugby App has produced some interesting results, with some of the players that ranked highly on the App missing out on a call-up into the extended Springbok group.

The Stats XV algorithm rates each player according to the stats that are important for his position and they were judged on all categories.

The SA Stats XV has been selected only from players that featured for South African franchises throughout the 2015 Vodacom SupeRugby season The Stats XV algorithm weighted each position according to the categories and the team Some positions have been given extra credit for some categories and penalised more for others

For example, Namibian international Torsten van Jaarsveld for example made it into the SA Stats XV ahead of Springbok hookers Bismarck du Plessis and Adriaan Strauss.

While Du Plessis may have ranked higher than Van Jaarsveld in some categories, he was penalised for the red card he received earlier in the season.

The DHL Stormers, who were crowned South African Conference winners have the largest representation in the SA Stats XV with five of their players making it into the final team.

Four of the Cape Town-based franchise’s players are in the backline with the midfield combination of Juan de Jongh and Damian de Allende, fullback Cheslin Kolbe, and flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis making it into the team.

Loosehead prop Steven Kitshoff is the only Stormers forward in the pack of forwards that are dominated by Toyota Cheetahs and Emirates Lions players.

Emirates Lions flyer Ruan Combrinck and Cell C Sharks speedster Lwazi Movo are the two wings in the side while the Vodacom Bulls’ Rudy Paige is the choice scrumhalf.

The Emirates Lions’ loose trio of eighthman Warren Whiteley, flankers Warwick Tecklenburg and Jaco Kriel have rightfully been installed as the SA Stats XV’s loose trio.

The Toyota Cheetahs’ second-row combination of Francois Uys and Carl Wegner join Van Jaarsveld in the forward pack with Vodacom Bulls tighthead prop Marcel van der Merwe completing the front-row.

Vodacom SupeRugby may have come to an end but the Vodacom Rugby App will keep fans informed as the Springboks prepare for the biggest competition of them all.

The App gives you in-depth stats, blow-by-blow analysis and allows you to stay adrift of what is happening with the Springboks.

Download and engage with the Vodacom Rugby App as Vodacom will give supporters all the Springbok stats during the Castle Lager Rugby Championship and all the international action from England in October.

South African Stats XV: 15 Cheslin Kolbe (DHL Stormers), 14 Ruan Combrinck (Lions), 13 Juan de Jongh (DHL Stormers), 12 Damian de Allende (DHL Stormers), 11 Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), 10 Demetri Catrakilis (DHL Stormers), 9 Rudy Paige (Bulls), 8 Warren Whiteley (Lions), 7 Warwick Tecklenburg (Lions), 6 Jaco Kriel (Lions), 5 Francois Uys (Cheetahs), 4 Carl Wegner (Cheetahs), 3 Marcel van der Merwe (Bulls), 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld (Cheetahs), 1 Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers).