DHL Stormers go down to Chiefs

PUBLISHED: July 23, 2016

The DHL Stormers went down 60-21 to the Chiefs in their Vodacom Super Rugby quarterfinal at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

The team from Hamilton proved too strong for their hosts, scoring four tries in each half to book their place in the Vodacom Super Rugby semifinals.

After some intense opening exchanges the visitors struck first with a penalty from fullback Damian McKenzie, but the DHL Stormers would score the first try as tighthead prop Vince Koch barged over to cap a period of pressure and give the hosts a 7-3 lead after the first 10 minutes.

However, that lead did not last long as the Chiefs responded with two quick tries of their own as first wing Sam McNicol and then scrumhalf Brad Weber dotted down to put them 17-7 ahead after 20 minutes.

The next try came courtesy of a charge down in the DHL Stormers 22, with Chiefs No.8 Tom Sanders getting the last touch after the ball had gone loose in-goal, and their lead was stretched to 27-7 with another penalty from McKenzie shortly afterwards.

They were not done there, and wing James Lowe was next to get on the scoresheet when he collected his own grubber to score in the corner.

However, the DHL Stormers would have the final say in the first half as Koch barged over for his second try to cut the deficit to 34-14 at the break.

The Chiefs were first to strike in the second half as a counter attack was moved wide to McKenzie who scored in the corner to take the lead out to 39-14.

The DHL Stormers refused to give in and they were finally rewarded for their efforts when flank Nizaam Carr burst over for a try with eight minutes left.

However, the Chiefs would have the final say as late tries from replacement hooker Hika Elliot, Tevita Koloamatangi and Tawera Kerr-Barlow sealed the victory.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Tries: Koch 2, Carr
Cons: Du Preez 2, Thomson

For Chiefs:
Tries: McNicol, Weber, Sanders, Lowe, McKenzie, Elliot, Koloamatangi, Kerr-Barlow
Cons: McKenzie 7
Pens: McKenzie 2

DHL Stormers: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Schalk Burger (co-captain), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Ezebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Frans Malherbe (co-captain), 19 JD Schickerling, 20 Rynhardt Elstadt, 21 Nizaam Carr, 22 Louis Schreuder, 23 Brandon Thomson.

Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Sam McNicol, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Stephen Donald, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (co-captain), 9 Brad Weber, 8 Tom Sanders, 7 Sam Cane (co-captain), 6 Taleni Seu, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Atu Moli, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Kane Hames.
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 18 Mitchell Graham, 19 Tevita Koloamatangi, 20 Lachlan Boshier, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Toni Pulu, 23 Shaun Stevenson.