DHL Stormers go down against Ospreys

PUBLISHED: April 20, 2024

The DHL Stormers went down 21-27 in their Vodacom United Rugby Championship encounter with Ospreys at DHL Stadium on Saturday night.

The Welsh side outscored their hosts by four tries to three to take the win, while the DHL Stormers ended with just a single bonus point on the night.

The DHL Stormers looked good to open the scoring when Suleiman Hartzenberg burst into the 22, but his pass to Evan Roos was intercepted just short of the tryline and instead it would be the visitors to score first with wing Luke Morgan finishing in the corner.

The home side responded with a perfectly executed set move off a line-out, which saw Dan du Plessis slice through to score.

The Ospreys took the lead back however, as hooker Sam Parry forced his way over from close range to make it 10-7. They followed that up with a second try from Morgan against the run of play just before the break, which saw the visitors take a 17-7 advantage into half-time.

The DHL Stormers came out with a point to prove in the second half and applied the pressure consistently.

They came from their own 22 for the second try, with some slick offloading eventually resulting in Evan Roos surging over.

The Welsh side refused to go away though and took the lead back out to 10 points as flank Harri Deaves went over just after the hour mark.

The DHL Stormers threw everything at them in search of a response, but somehow the Welsh outfit kept them out and a late penalty put them out of reach.

The home side were awarded a penalty try at the death which salvaged a bonus points for their efforts.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Tries: Du Plessis, Roos, penalty try
Cons: Libbok 2

For Ospreys:
Tries: Morgan 2, Parry, Deaves
Cons: Walsh 2
Pen: Walsh

DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Ben Loader, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Hacjivah Dayimani, 6 Nama Xaba, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Frans Malherbe (captain), 2 JJ Kotze, 1 Brok Harris.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Ruben van Heerden, 20 Willie Engelbrecht, 21 Marcel Theunissen, 22 Paul de Wet, 23 Damian Willemse.