DHL Stormers dominant in Durban

PUBLISHED: February 4, 2023

The DHL Stormers scored six tries on their way to a convincing 46-19 win in their Vodacom United Rugby Championship coastal clash with the Cell C Sharks in Durban on Saturday.

Three tries in each half saw the DHL Stormers claim a full house of five log points and consolidate their position in second place on the overall standings.

The DHL Stormers stamped their authority early on with a counter-attacking try which saw Manie Libbok dummy his way through the defensive line before putting his halfback partner Herschel Jantjies over.

Libbok made another assist for the second try as his inside ball put lock Ruben van Heerden over after he had run over the last defender.

Libbok added a penalty before a maul try from hooker Joseph Dweba took the lead out to 24-0.

The home side hit back with a try just before half-time, but the DHL Stormers were in the driver’s seat at the break with a 24-7 advantage.

The DHL Stormers made a strong start to the second half, with Seabelo Senatla finihsing in the corner in his comeback game to wrap up the bonus point.

Senatla featured in the next try as well as a counter-attack from the 22 saw him hack the ball ahead and collect before giving it to Suleiman Hartzenberg to race over.

Libbok deservedly got over for the sixth try and would add a late penalty too in his man of the match performance.

The home side socred two tries late in the second half as they looked to mount a comeback, but they ended with no points as the DHL Stormers claimed a comfortable win in the end.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Jantjies, Van Heerden, Dweba, Senatla, Hartzenberg, Libbok
Cons: Blommetjies, Libbok 4
Pens: Libbok 2

For Cell C Sharks:
Tries: Grobler 2, Jooste
Cons: Bosch 2

DHL Stormers: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Marcel Theunissen, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Deon Fourie (captain), 5 Gary Porter, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Brok Harris.
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Ben-Jason Dixon, 20 Willie Engelbrecht, 21 Keke Morabe, 22 Paul de Wet, 23 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu.

Cell C Sharks: Aphelele Fassi, Marnus Potgieter, Ben Tapuai, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Thaakir Abrahams, Curwin Bosch, Cameron Wright, Phepsi Buthelezi, Henco Venter, James Venter, Gerbrandt Grobler, Hyron Andrews, Carlu Sadie, Kerron van Vuuren, Ntuthuko Mchunu.
Replacements: Dan Jooste, Dian Bleuler, Hanro Jacobs, Reniel Hugo, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Bradley Davids, Lionel Cronje, Yaw Penxe.