DHL Stormers book home semifinal at DHL Stadium

PUBLISHED: May 6, 2023

The DHL Stormers booked a home Vodacom United Rugby Championship semifinal next week with a dominant 33-21 quarterfinal win against the Vodacom Bulls on Saturday.

The defending champions will face Irish side Connacht at DHL Stadium next Saturday for a chance to play in the Grand Final.

It was an impressive performance from the DHL Stormers who have never lost against the Vodacom Bulls in the Vodacom United Rugby Championship, with six straight wins in two seasons.

The home side had a crowd of 44 106 behind them and started with purpose, with some early dominance that they never really relinquished.

Manie Libbok broke the defensive line with a dummy and moved into the 22 before it was sent out to flank Hacjivah Dayimani to cruise over for the opening try.

Libbok added a penalty which took the lead into double figures and it was 17-0 when Leolin Zas finished a breathtaking counter-attack which started with a line-out stolen by Marvin Orie.

The visitors got on the scoreboard just before half-time with a try from flank Cyle Brink, but the DHL Stormers went into the break with a 17-7 advantage.

The hosts made a fast start to the second half too, with a Libbok penalty and a try from wing Angelo Davids putting them firmly in control.

The Vodacom Bulls hit back with a try from scrumhalf Embrose Papier, but two late Libbok penalties sealed what was a deserved win and home semifinal at DHL Stadium next week, despite the visitors having the final say with a try after the hooter from hooker Bismarck du Plessis.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Dayimani, Zas, Davids
Cons: Libbok 3
Pens: Libbok 4

For Vodacom Bulls:
Tries: Brink, Papier, Du Plessis
Cons: Goosen 2, Smith

DHL Stormers: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Angelo Davids, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Hacjivah Dayimani, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain).
Replacements: 16 JJ Kotze, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Gary Porter, 20 Ben-Jason Dixon, 21 Willie Engelbrecht, 22 Paul de Wet, 23 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu.