Coetzee announces team for Boland

PUBLISHED: February 3, 2010

Allister Coetzee, head coach of the Vodacom Stormers, on Wednesday announced his team to play a Boland Invitational IV at the new Cape Town Stadium on Saturday 6 February.

The coach selected a squad of 27 players, with Ricky Januarie, Willem de Waal and Dylan des Fountain getting their first starts this season. Januarie on Monday returned from Wales, where he played for the Ospreys.

De Waal and Des Fountain have recovered from long-term injuries. Fabian Juries, the recruit from the Cheetahs, will running out at fullback instead of his favoured wing position.

Several stalwarts, such as Jaque Fourie, Andries Bekker, Joe Pietersen, Brok Harris and Peter Grant will not be involved in the action on Saturday.

This will be the Stormers last warm-up game before they take on the Lions in Johannesburg next weekend in their first Super 14 match of the 2010 series.

Gates open at 14h00 and there is a whole line up of entertainment, including a Castle Cape Town Tens curtain raiser game: SA 10’s Legends vs International 10’s Legends at 15h00. Kick-off for the main game is at 16h15.

Please note that tickets to this fixture are SOLD OUT.

The Vodacom Stormers team is as follows:

15. Fabian Juries
14. Sireli Naqelevuki
13. Frikkie Welsh
12. Paul Bosch
11. Dylan Des Fountain
10. Willem De Waal
9. Ricky Januarie
8. Pieter Louw
7 Yaya Hartzenberg
6. Schalk Burger (C)
5. Anton Van Zyl
4. Rynhardt Elstadt
3. JC Kritzinger
2. Deon Fourie
1. JD Moller


16. Callie Visagie
17. Eusebio Guinazu
18. Martin Muller
19. Pieter Myburgh
20. Conraad Britz
21. Bolla Conradie
22. Lionel Cronje
23. Tim Whitehead
24. Duane Vermeulen
25. Bryan Habana
26. Juan De Jongh
27. Gio Aplon