Baby Boks name team to play England

PUBLISHED: June 11, 2012

Junior Springboks coach Dawie Theron made five changes to his starting team for their crucial pool B clash against England at the Cape Town Stadium on Tuesday. (Kick-off 6:45pm CAT, SA, GMT+2).

With Ireland also still in the hunt, the result of this clash could determine the group winner and subsequent semifinalist of this pool in the IRB Junior World Championship 2012.

Theron recalled fullback Dillyn Leyds and wings Paul Jordaan and Pat Howard to his backline and Shaun Adendorff and Fabian Booysen to his loose trio, with his midfield, halfbacks and tight five from the convincing victory over Italy remaining intact.

Wiaan Liebenberg will again lead the side from the side of the scrum.

Theron expressed his excitement for this crucial clash.

“We have all of our current squad fit and ready to play, so I could pick a team I believe can take us past England and into the final four of the competition. We’ve recovered well from the Italy match, but realise that England will be a different opponent, both physically and mentally.”

With both teams needing a bonus point and a win to edge out Ireland, Theron is expecting an all action affair at the fast surface of the Cape Town Stadium.

“We need to score tries and try and get the bonus point and England will have to do the same, so one expects a match with two positives sides playing attacking rugby. This mean that we will have to attack well, but even defend better, as England have shown that they are a team that can score tries.”

Liebenberg also expected no favours from their opponents.

“They can spoil our party, but this will be a very determined and motivated Junior Bok team that will take the field. We have everything to lose, so defeat is not an option for us. We gained good momentum from the win against Italy and now need to use that to get past England.”

Junior Springbok team v England: 15. Dillyn Leyds (Western Province), 14. Paul Jordaan (KZN), 13. William Small-Smith (Vodacom Blue Bulls), 12. Jan Serfontein (Vodacom Blue Bulls), 11. Pat Howard (DHL Western Province), Handrè Pollard (DHL Western Province), 9. Vian van der Watt (MTN Golden Lions), 8. Fabian Booysen (MTN Golden Lions), 7. Wiaan Liebenberg (Vodacom Blue Bulls, captain), 6. Shaun Adendorff (Vodacom Blue Bulls), 5. Ruan Botha (MTN Golden Lions), 4. Paul Willemse (MTN Golden Lions), 3. Oliver Kebble (DHL Western Province), 2. Jason Thomas (Vodacom Blue Bulls), 1. Steven Kitshoff (DHL Western Province)

Replacements:16. Mark Pretorius (MTN Golden Lions), 17. Allan Dell (KZN), 18. Pieter Steph du Toit (KZN), 19. Braam Steyn (KZN), 20. Abrie Griesel (Vodacom Blue Bulls), 21. Tony Jantjies (Vodacom Blue Bulls), 22. Tshotsho Mbovane (DHL Western Province), 23. Maks van Dyk (KZN)