DHL Stormers go down in Buenos Aires

PUBLISHED: June 30, 2018

The DHL Stormers fought bravely, but went down 25-14 against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

A try in each half saw the DHL Stormers in the contest right until the end, but the Jaguares held on for a hard-fought win.

The home side got on the scoreboard early on with a penalty fom flyhalf Nicolas Sanchez, who missed a second attempt at goal shortly afterwards.

The Jaguares then scored two quick tries to race out to a 15-0 lead, as first wing Bautista Delguy went over from a blindside move at a scrum and then lock Guido Petti showed good pace to race away after the ball had bounced kindly from a chip kick.

The DHL Stormers responded by driving deep into opposition territory and applying some pressure of their own. They were eventually rewarded when No.8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe showed a turn of pace and explosive power to go through a gap to score.

They continued to camp in the Jaguares’ half, with the scrum looking particularly impressive against the South Americans, but they were unable to get over the tryline again before the break, with the hosts taking a 15-7 advantage into half-time.

The Jaguares scored early in the second half against the run of play as Petti grabbed the ball in the 22 and raced away, with centre Matias Orlando evetually dotting down out wide.

To their credit the DHL Stormers stuck to their task and were eventually rewarded when the ball was swung out wide after some good work up front by the forwards, with Dillyn Leyds stepping his way over for the try.

However, the Jaguares would have the final say with a Sanchez penalty which sealed the 25-14 win.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Tries: Notshe, Leyds
Cons: Du Plessis 2

For Jaguares:
Tries: Delguy, Petti, Orlando
Con: Sanchez
Pens: Sanchez 2

DHL Stormers: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Craig Barry, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Jan de Klerk, 4 Cobus Wiese, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 JC Janse van Rensberg, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Kobus van Dyk, 22 Justin Phillips, 23 EW Viljoen.

Jaguares: 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo De La Fuente Jeronimo, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Tomas Lezana, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Santiago Garcia Botta.
Replacements: 16 Diego Fortuny, 17 Javier Manuel Diaz, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Joaquin Diaz Bonila, 23 Matias Moroni.