Vodacom Super Rugby Review – Round Four

PUBLISHED: March 14, 2011

The Lions ended their 17-match winless streak in Vodacom Super Rugby following their 25-20 victory over the Toyota Cheetahs at the Free State Stadium on Saturday.

The Johannesburg team last secured a win in the competition during May 2009, and managed to do just enough to see off the home challenge of their Bloemfontein hosts in this South African derby.

The defeat for the hosts ensured that they ended round four in fi fth position on the South African conference log with three points and are currently at the bottom of the combined log in 15th place. The visitors, who last secured a Vodacom Super Rugby win in South Africa during the 2009 season, ended round four in 10th position with 7 points.

The Lions flyhalf Elton Jantjies notched up 15 points with the boot by kicking fi ve penalties while the Johannesburg team’s tries were added by winger Lionel Mapoe and fl anker Derick Minnie. The Toyota Cheetahs’ points were achieved thanks to a try by captain and centre Andries Strauss while fl yhalf Sias Ebersohn notched up 15 points by kicking fi ve penalties.

The Sharks re-wrote the record books on Friday after they set a new South African milestone for the most number of victories (24) over Australian opposition when they ran in four tries and defeated the Rebels 34-32 in Melbourne.

The Durban team, together with the DHL Stormers, are the only undefeated teams in the 2011 competition and is currently in pole position on the South African Conference and combined conference logs with 18 points.

Hooker Bismarck du Plessis, winger Lwazi Mvovo, centre Meyer Bosman and No 8 Ryan Kankowski were the try scorers for the visitors while fl yhalf Patrick Lambie succeeded by converting all of his team’s fi vepointers at the AAMI Stadium on Friday. The former SA U20 fullback also kicked two penalties to end the match with a personal points’ haul of 14. Lambie is currently the leading points’ scorer in the 2011 Vodacom Super Rugby competition with 65 points and is 15 behind the Crusaders pivot Dan Carter (50).

The Rebels’ tries were scored by Cooper Vuna, Daniel Cipriani, Jarrod Saffy and Julien Huxley. Cipriani kicked three conversions and two penalties. The Melbourne team are currently in 14th position on the combined log with six log points.

Meanwhile in Cape Town, the DHL Stormers consigned the Highlanders to their fi rst defeat of the 2011 Vodacom Super Rugby competition following their 18-6 victory at DHL Newlands on Friday evening.

Both teams were solid on defence and as a result no tries were scored in this match. Peter Grant kicked six penalties for the hosts, while his opposite number Robbie Robinson kicked two for the Otago team.

The victory for the DHL Stormers ensured that they ended round four in fourth position on the combined log with 16 points, and in second place on the South African conference.

Toyota Cheetahs 20 The Lions 25
Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Man of the Match – Doppies La Grange (Lions)

Toyota Cheetahs: 15. Riaan Viljoen, 14. Philip Snyman, 13. Robert Ebersohn, 12. Andries Strauss (captain), 11. Ryno Benjamin, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Ashley Johnson, 7. Philip van der Walt, 6. Heinrich Brussow, 5. Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4. Martin Muller, 3. WP Nel, 2. Ryno Barnes, 1. Coenie Oosthuizen
Substitutes: 16. Skipper Badenhorst, 17. Kobus Calldo, 18. Kabamba Floors (47th min for Heinrich Brussow), 19. Francois Uys, 20. Tewis de Bruyn, 21. Naas Olivier (71st min for Sias Ebersohn), 22. Fabian Juries (71st min for Rayno Benjamin).

Scorers – Try : Andries Strauss; Penalties: Sias Ebersohn (5).

Lions: 15. James Kamana, 14. Lionel Mapoe, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Doppies La Grange, 11. Michael Killian, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Rory Kockott, 8. Warren Whiteley, 7. Josh Strauss, 6. Derick Minnie, 5. Franco van der Merwe (captain), 4. Wikus van Heerden, 3. Patrick Cilliers, 2. Bandise Maku, 1. JC Janse van Rensburg
Substitutes: 16. Martin Bezuidenhout (56th min for Bandise Maku), 17. Kevin Buys (64th min for Pat Cilliers), 18. Michael Rhodes (64th min for Wikus van Heerden), 19. Cobus Grobbelaar, 20. Michael Bondesio, 21. Burton Francis (72nd min for Doppies la Grange), Jaco Taute (56th min for Micheal Killian)

Scorers – Tries: Lionel Mapoe, Derick Minnie; Penalties: Elton Jantjies (5).
Yellow Card – James Kamana

Rebels 32 The Sharks 34
AAMI Park, Melbourne

Rebels: 15. Mark Gerrard, 14. Lachlan Mitchell, 13. Stirling Mortlock (captain), 12. Julian Huxley, 11. Cooper Vuna, 10. Danny Cipriani, 9. Nick Phipps, 8. Gareth Delve, 7. Michael Lipman, 6. Jarrod Saffy, 5. Kevin O’Neill, 4. Alister Campbell, 3. Greg Somerville, 2. Ged Robinson, 1. Nic Henderson
Substitutions: 16. Heath Tessman, 17. Laurie Weeks, 18. Hugh Pyle, 19. Tim Davidson, 20. Richard Kingi, 21. Afusipa Taumoepeau, 22. Luke Rooney

Scorers – Tries: Cooper Vuna, Daniel Cipriani, Jarrod Saffy, Julien Huxley; Conversions: Cipriani (3); Penalties: Cipriani (2).

The Sharks: 15. Louis Ludik, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Stefan Terblanche, 12. Meyer Bosman, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Charl McLeod, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. Alistair Hargreaves, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. John Smit (captain), 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira
Substitutes: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Jannie du Plessis (59th min for John Smit), 18. Anton Bresler, 19. Jacques Botes (53rd min for Keegan Daniel), 20. Conrad Hoffmann (77th min for Charl McLeod), 21. Jacques-Louis Potgieter (77th min for Patrick Lambie), 22. Adrian Jacobs (63rd min for Louis Ludik)

Scorers – Tries: Bismarck du Plessis, Lwazi Mvovo, Meyer Bosman, Ryan Kankowski; Conversions: Patrick Lambie (4); Penalties: Lambie (2).

DHL Stormers 18 Highlanders 6
DHL Newlands, Cape Town

DHL Stormers: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Danie Poolman, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Pieter Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Rynhardt Elstadt, 3 JC Kritzinger, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 CJ van der Linde
Substitutions: 16 Siyabonga Ntubeni (63rd min for JC Kritzinger), 17 Wikus Blaauw (53rd min for CJ van der Linde), 18 De Kock Steenkamp (63rd min for Rynhardt Elstadt), 19 Nick Koster (62nd min for Pieter Louw), 20 Ricky Januarie (75th min for Dewaldt Duvenhage), 21 Gary van Aswegen, 22 Jaque Fourie (47th min for Danie Poolman)

Scorers – Penalties: Peter Grant (6)
Yellow Card – Andries Bekker

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 James Paterson, 13 Kendrick Lynn, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Siale Piutau, 10 Robbie Robinson, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Nasi Manu, 7 Alando Soakai, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Josh Bekhuis, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 Chris King, 2 Jason Rutledge, 1 Jamie Mackintosh (c).
Substitutes: 16 Mahroni Schwalger, 17 David Te Moana, 18 Tom Donnelly, 19 John Hardie, 20 Aaron Smith, 21 Tony Brown, 22 Telusa Veainu.

Scorers – Penalties: Robbie Robinson (2)
Yellow Card – Jarrad Hoeata