Vodacom Stormers unchanged for Waratahs

PUBLISHED: May 19, 2010

Allister Coetzee, head coach of the Vodacom Stormers, on Wednesday announced his team to play the Waratahs in a semi-final clash at Newlands on Saturday 22 May. Kick-off is at 19h10.

Gates open at 17h00 and supporters are urged to get to the stadium early as the match is a sell out.

Wing Gio Aplon and centre Juan de Jongh sat out Tuesday’s training session in Bellville, but both were included when the side was named on Wednesday.

Coetzee said the Stormers’ conditioning programme has allowed him to retain his first-choice squad for the majority of the season.

“At this stage of the competition you’re looking for continuity in selection. We’ve kept the majority of our group together and really grown as a unit. There have been losses, but again, we have learned from them as a group.

“I’ve really got to credit the conditioning coach, Steph du Toit. The guys have stayed fit, and it’s been a case of the more they’ve played, the better they’ve fared with regards to injury.

“It’s also about attitude, when you go into a match half-heartedly, that’s often when you get hurt. The guys have given their all for every minute. It’s never been a question about effort.”

The Vodacom Stormers team is as follows:

15. Joe Pietersen
14. Gio Aplon
13. Jaque Fourie
12. Juan De Jongh
11. Bryan Habana
10. Peter Grant
9. Dewaldt Duvenage
8. Duane Vermeulen
7 Francois Louw
6. Schalk Burger (C)
5. Andries Bekker
4. Adriaan Fondse
3. Brok Harris
2. Tiaan Liebenberg
1. Wicus Blaauw


16. Deon Fourie
17. Eusebio Guinazu
18. Anton Van Zyl
19. Pieter Louw
20. Ricky Januarie
21. Willem De Waal
22. Tim Whitehead