Vodacom Stormers team to play the Highlanders in a Vodacom Super 14 match announced

PUBLISHED: March 3, 2010

Allister Coetzee, head coach of the Vodacom Stormers, on Wednesday announced his team to play the Highlanders at Newlands on Saturday 6 March.

Schalk Burger is back to take over the captaincy from Andries Bekker. Lock Bekker lead the team in Burger’s injury-enforced absence against the Brumbies at Newlands last Friday.

The regular captain has, however, recovered from a hamstring injury he sustained against the Waratahs the previous Saturday and is raring to go. He takes over at flank from Pieter Louw, who reverts back to the susbtitutes’ bench.

Also back in the starting XV is prop Wicus Blaauw, who shook off a shoulder injury. He replaces JC Kritzinger.

In another change to the side Dewaldt Duvenhage returns at scrumhalf in place of Ricky Januarie, who is back on the bench. Lock Anton van Zyl makes his first start this season for the Stormers in place of De Kock Steenkamp, who takes the former’s place on the bench.

The main fixture is preceded by two curtain raisers. The first game at 13h00 is a test match between SA u/20 and Argentina u/20.

This is followed by a Vodacom Cup clash between Vodacom WP and the Sharks XV at 14h45. Kick-off for the main fixture is at 17h05, with gates opening at 12h30.

Tickets are priced between R80 and R95 for seating, with standing room tickets R50. Tickets are currently on sale through Computicket outlets nationwide, online at www.computicket.com or via the Call Centre on 083 915 8000. The Newlands Box Office in Boundary Road will be open from Tuesday till Friday from 9am to 4pm, and on Saturday from 9am until kick-off.

The Vodacom Stormers team is as follows:

15. Joe Pietersen
14. Gio Aplon
13. Jaque Fourie
12. Juan De Jongh
11. Bryan Habana
10. Peter Grant
9. Dewaldt Duvenage
8. Duane Vermeulen
7 Francois Louw
6. Schalk Burger (C)
5. Andries Bekker
4. Anton Van Zyl
3. Brok Harris
2. Tiaan Liebenberg
1. Wicus Blaauw


16. Deon Fourie
17. JC Kritzinger
18. De Kock Steenkamp
19. Pieter Louw
20. Ricky Januarie
21. Lionel Cronje
22. Sireli Naqelevuki