Vodacom Stormers nominated for Super 14 Player of the Year

PUBLISHED: June 25, 2008

Following an exciting season of entertaining rugby by the Cape franchise, it came as no surprise that the Vodacom Stormers players dominated the nominations for South Africa’s Vodacom Super 14 Player of the Year. The nominations were made by members of the media on request from SA Rugby.

Vodacom Stormers captain Jean de Villiers, lock Andries Bekker and fullback Conrad Jantjes are in the running for the Super 14 award, with Sharks Ryan Kankowski and Rory Kockott filling the two remaining places on the nomination list.

The two coastal franchises were South Africa’s strongest representatives in the 2008 competition, with the Sharks securing a semi final berth. The Vodacom Stormers finished 5th on the Vodacom Super 14 log, missing out on a semi final due to an inferior points difference with the New Zealand based Hurricanes.

The winners will be announced at the SA Rugby Awards Banquet later in 2008