Van Zyl to lead DHL Stormers in Hong Kong

PUBLISHED: May 17, 2018

Lock Chris van Zyl will captain the DHL Stormers in their encounter with the Sunwolves in Hong Kong on Saturday.

Regular captain Siya Kolisi’s workload is being managed, which will see him play off the replacements bench for the first-ever Vodacom Super Rugby match to be played in Hong Kong, which kicks off at 07h15 SA time at the Mong Kok Stadium on Saturday.

As a result Cobus Wiese comes into the starting line-up on the flank, along with No.8 Nizaam Carr and loosehead prop JC Janse van Rensburg, who replaces the injured Steven Kitshoff.

This will see prop Carlu Sadie come onto the replacements bench alongside lock Jan de Klerk and loose forwards Sikhumbuzo Notshe and Kolisi as forward cover.

There are two changes to the backline, with Jean-Luc du Plessis making his first start of the campaign at flyhalf and Seabelo Senatla coming in on the wing, with EW Viljoen amongst the replacements.

DHL Stormers Head Coach Robbie Fleck said that his team are looking forward to what will be the first-ever Vodacom Super Rugby game to be played in Hong Kong.

“It is great to play in Hong Kong and break new ground, but we are here to do a job and the team is focused on the task at hand.

“Our preparations have gone well here and the players are determined to put together a convincing performance,” he said.

DHL Stormers: 15 SP Marais, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Kobus van Dyk, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Ramone Samuels, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Carlu Sadie, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 22 Paul de Wet, 23 EW Viljoen.