Two changes for DHL Stormers

PUBLISHED: April 6, 2017

There are just two changes to the DHL Stormers starting line-up for their clash with the Chiefs at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

Scrumhalf Jano Vermaak has been ruled out after leaving the field with concussion in the 53-10 victory against the Toyota Cheetahs at DHL Newlands last week. He is replaced by the experienced Dewaldt Duvenage, with Justin Phillips providing cover on the replacements bench.

The only change to the forward pack sees a fit-again Wilco Louw take his place at tighthead prop alongside hooker Bongi Mbonambi, who earns his 50th Vodacom Super Rugby cap.

The changes amongst the replacements see Phillips and lock Jan de Klerk get an opportunity, whilst prop Frans Malherbe is also set to provide impact when called upon.

DHL Stormers Head Coach Robbie Fleck said that the players are looking forward to standing together with the DHL Newlands Faithful for what should be an intense match between two unbeaten sides.

“The players have all put in a lot of hard work and we cannot wait to test ourselves against the Chiefs this weekend.

“There should be an incredible atmosphere at DHL Newlands on Saturday, so we are very excited about what lies ahead,” he said.

DHL Stormers: 15 SP Marais, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Siya Kolisi (captain), 6 Cobus Wiese, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth (vice-captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Dan Kriel.