Ten DHL Stormers in Bok training squad

PUBLISHED: March 27, 2017

The 41-man Springbok training squad set to meet in Stellenbosch from 2 to 4 April includes 10 DHL Stormers players.

Outside back Dillyn Leyds and centre EW Viljoen have been called up to the Springbok set-up for the first time and will join DHL Stormers teammates Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Wilco Louw, Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Seabelo Senatla and Jano Vermaak in the training squad.

The second of three training camps – which are part of the Springboks’ preparation plans for the forthcoming international season – will take place at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport.

South Africa will host France in a three-match Castle Lager Incoming Series in June, before the Castle Lager Rugby Championship gets underway in August.

The Springbok selectors invited a group of 13 Cell C Sharks players, 10 each from the Emirates Lions and DHL Stormers as well as eight Toyota Cheetahs players to the three-day camp.

There are no players from the Vodacom Bulls or the Southern Kings in the latest training group as these two franchises are in action abroad. As with the first camp, there are also no overseas-based players included amongst the squad list of 41 players, adhering to Regulation 9 of World Rugby. Lock Franco Mostert is not available for this camp as his wife is due to give birth to their first child.

Injured Springboks Pat Lambie, Uzair Cassiem and Ruan Combrinck have been invited to the camp, but injured players such as Damian de Allende and Jean-Luc du Plessis (both DHL Stormers), who made the trip to the previous camp in Johannesburg, are not required to do so again.

Included amongst the 41 players are another five Young Guns, players all under the age of 23 years who have been earmarked as potential future Springboks. They are Ox Nche (prop, Toyota Cheetahs), Wilco Louw (prop, DHL Stormers), Ruan Ackermann (loose forward, Emirates Lions), EW Viljoen (centre, DHL Stormers) and Bosch (flyhalf, Cell C Sharks).

Allister Coetzee, Springbok coach, said he and his coaching staff are looking forward to continue their preparation work with the extended training squad.

“The first camp was very successful and we managed to cover a lot of our planning and training plans with the group that assembled in Johannesburg. We aim to do the same in Stellenbosch,” said Coetzee.

“This group has a different look to it because of the addition of the Cell C Sharks players, while we are not able to call up players from the Vodacom Bulls and the Southern Kings because they will be abroad when the camp takes place.”

With a third camp planned for May, there is still time for players to catch the attention of the selectors, according to Coetzee: “There is still one more camp to follow after Stellenbosch, so we will keep the door open for players who perform in Vodacom Super Rugby.

“The camp provides another opportunity for us to cast the net wider and also to have a closer look at certain positions. There are a couple of new faces in this group who have shown consistently good form. I also want to thank our franchise and conditioning coaches for their continued collaboration and support,” said Coetzee.

During their three day stay in Stellenbosch, the group will undergo medical and conditioning assessments, attend gym and undertake a couple of field training sessions.

Springbok training squad: Ruan Ackermann (Emirates Lions), Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks), Clayton Blommetjies (Toyota Cheetahs), Curwin Bosch (Cell C Sharks), Ruan Botha (Cell C Sharks), Uzair Cassiem (Toyota Cheetahs), Andries Coetzee (Emirates Lions), Ruan Combrinck (Emirates Lions), Ruan Dreyer (Emirates Lions), Jean-Luc du Preez (Cell C Sharks), Pieter-Steph du Toit (DHL Stormers), Eben Etzebeth (DHL Stormers), Rohan Janse van Rensburg (Emirates Lions), Elton Jantjies (Emirates Lions), Siya Kolisi (DHL Stormers), Jaco Kriel (Emirates Lions), Pat Lambie (Cell C Sharks), Dillyn Leyds (DHL Stormers), Wilco Louw (DHL Stormers), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), Lionel Mapoe (Emirates Lions), Malcolm Marx (Emirates Lions), Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Stormers), Oupa Mohoje (Toyota Cheetahs), Beast Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks), Lubabalo Mtembu (Cell C Sharks), Lwazi Mvovo (Cell C Sharks), Ox Nche (Toyota Cheetahs), Coenie Oosthuizen (Cell C Sharks), Etienne Oosthuizen (Cell C Sharks), Chiliboy Ralepelle (Cell C Sharks), Cobus Reinach (Cell C Sharks), Raymond Rhule (Toyota Cheetahs), Seabelo Senatla (DHL Stormers), Kobus van Wyk (Cell C Sharks), Jano Vermaak (DHL Stormers), Francois Venter (Toyota Cheetahs), Shaun Venter (Toyota Cheetahs), EW Viljoen (DHL Stormers), Warren Whiteley (Emirates Lions), Fred Zeilinga (Toyota Cheetahs).