Super Rugby final series qualifiers

PUBLISHED: June 20, 2011

Following the completion of Round 18 of the Super Rugby regular season, the confirmed fixtures for the 2011 Super Rugby Finals Series Qualifiers are:

Date: Friday 24 June 2011

Teams: Blues (4th) vs Waratahs (5th)
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Kick-Off: 19h35

Date: Saturday 25 June 2011
Teams: Crusaders (3rd – NZ Conference winners) vs Sharks (6th)
Venue: Trafalgar Park, Nelson
Kick-Off: 19h35

Although the Waratahs and Sharks finished the regular season with the same amount of points (57) and victories (10), the Waratahs were placed fifth due to their superior points for and against differential.

The Crusaders vs Sharks takes place on Saturday as the Sharks must travel from South Africa.

The winners of the Super Rugby Qualifiers will advance to the Semi-Finals, where they will face either the Australian Conference winnners, the Reds or South African Conference winners, the Stormers who have a bye this coming weekend after finishing first and second respectively in the overall standings.

In the semi-finals, the Reds will host the lowest-ranked Qualifier in Brisbane on Saturday 2 July at 19h40, whilst the Stormers will host the highest ranked qualifier in Cape Town, also on Saturday 2 July at 17h05.