Smit leads Sharks against Vodacom Stormers

PUBLISHED: January 28, 2010

Springbok captain John Smit will be leading the Sharks in Friday night’s final Neo Africa Tri-Series match at Newlands against the Vodacom Stormers.

New flyhalf recruit Steve Meyer is set to get his first bit of game-time for his former team. The 25-year-old former Kearsney College pupil left the Sharks to join up with Perpignan in 2006, but has returned on a two-year deal with the coastal franchise.

Meyer has been included on the bench, but it will be Monty Dumond who once again starts in the No 10 jersey.

The Sharks starting team from Tuesday night’s loss against the Force has been completely reshuffled as they look to give those that were on the bench a shot at getting onto the Newlands pitch from the word go.

Young Pat Lambie comes in for the experienced Stefan Terblanche at fullback, while Springboks JP Pietersen and Odwa Ndungane will man the wings.

Waylon Murray retains his spot at outside centre with Adi Jacobs still battling with injury, but he will be joined by Andries Strauss in the midfield. Dumond and Kockott remain as the 9-10 combination.

Jean Deysel is the only loose-forward who will start once again in the back row, but he is joined by Keegan Daniel and Willem Alberts, with the latter getting his first Sharks start despite the Lions’ insistence that he should not be turning out for the coastal franchise.

In a new-look second row and front row, locks Johann Muller and another new recruit Gerhard Mostert will start, while Jannie du Plessis gets a rare go at loosehead prop alongside brother Bismarck and Smit.

The Sharks: Patrick Lambie, Odwa Ndungane, Waylon Murray, Andries Strauss, JP Pietersen, Monty Dumond, Rory Kockot, Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Keegan Danie, Johann Muller, Gerhard Mostert, John Smit (captain), Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis.
Replacements: Craig Burden, Tendai Mtawarira, Steven Sykes, Ryan Kankowski, Charl McLeod, Riaan Swanepoel, Stefan Terblanche, Patric Cilliers, Alistair Hargreaves, Steve Meyer, Luzuko Vulindlu, Lwazi Mvovo.