Six changes for Vodacom Stormers

PUBLISHED: April 23, 2008

Vodacom Stormers coach Rassie Erasmus rung the changes when he announced his side for Saturday’s Super 14 match against the Highlanders at Newlands.

The coach made six changes to the line-up that beat the Hurricanes the past Saturday. Two of those changes were forced through injury while the other three came about as a result of the need to give players a break.

He explained that two of the changes were due to injury and the rest were rotational.

Erasmus said he hoped wing Tonderai Chavhanga would be back as quickly as possible, but at this stage it looks like the flyer will be out of action for four weeks due to the hamstring injury he sustained against the Hurricanes.

Dylan des Fountain will be taking over from him at the right wing.

Schalk Ferreira returns to the side at loosehead prop in place of JD Moller, who will be out for the next four months due to a shoulder injury.

Ross Skeate will get another start at lock in place of Adriaan Fondse.

The Stormers will also be starting with a brand new halfback combination. Bolla Conradie will be starting at scrumhalf in place of Enrico Januarie.

At flyhalf Tony Brown will be making his first start in place of Peter Grant – against his former Super 14 side.

Tiaan Liebenberg replaces Schalk Brits at hooker in a rotational move.

Erasmus said Skeate and Fondse have been rotating the whole season with Andries Bekker.

He said Enrico Januarie and Peter Grant needed a break. “Bash had flu last week. He’s been playing 80 minutes since the beginning of the tournament and he’s had a few bumps and bruises.

“The same goes for Ricky. The type of game they play is a physical game for a halfback pairing. Tony knows Bolla just as well and even better than he knows Ricky.

“They have always been running together on the opposition side when we do drills at training, so we thought a good time to make a change there would not be only be with Tony but also with Bolla.

“You can’t really say Tony knows Ricky better than he knows Bolla and those two (Januarie and Grant) really deserve a break.”

The Vodacom Stormers team is as follows:

15. Conrad Jantjes
14. Dylan Des Fountain
13. Gcobani Bobo
12. Jean De Villiers (C)
11. Sireli Naqelevuki
10. Tony Brown
9. Bolla Conradie
8. Luke Watson
7 Francois Louw
6. Schalk Burger
5. Andries Bekker
4. Ross Skeate
3. Brian Mujati
2. Tiaan Liebenberg
1. Schalk Ferreira


16. Schalk Brits
17. Brok Harris
18. Adriaan Fondse
19. Robbie Diack
20. Ricky Januarie
21. Peter Grant
22. Gio Aplon