Sharks select Alberts for Neo Africa tri-series

PUBLISHED: January 25, 2010

The Lions’ No 8 Willem Alberts has been selected in the pre-season squad announced by the Sharks for the Neo Africa tri-series in Cape Town.

Springbok utility back Ruan Pienaar was not considered as he is undergoing rehabilitation.

The Vodacom Stormers played Australian franchise the Western Force on Saturday night in the tri-series opening match. The Sharks will take on the Force on Tuesday and the pre-season friendlies wrap up with the Stormers hosting the Sharks Friday evening.

Sharks coach John Plumtree said: “Obviously the contact side of it is important for us, as well as the new rules – the laws that the referees are looking at: tightening up on the breakdown and the scrummaging.

“It will be good for us to get used to those areas,” Plumtree said on the Sharks website of what he would like to get out of the two matches.

The squad which includes 12 Springboks:

Forwards: Willem Alberts, Jacques Botes, Craig Burden, Patric Cilliers, Keegan Daniel, Jean Deysel, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Alistair Hargreaves, Ryan Kankowski, Gerhard Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, Johann Muller, John Smit and Steven Sykes.

Backs: Monty Dumond, Adrian Jacobs, Rory Kockott, Patrick Lambie, Charl McLeod, Waylon Murray, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, JP Pietersen, Andries Strauss, Riaan Swanepoel, Stefan Terblanche and Luzuko Vulindlu.

Jan 26: 7pm The Sharks v Western Force
Jan 29: 7pm Stormers v The Sharks