Second-half fightback sees DHL Stormers home

PUBLISHED: May 9, 2015

The DHL Stormers returned to winning ways in the 2015 Vodacom Super Rugby competition with a 25-24 win over the Brumbies at DHL Newlands on Saturday night.

A crowd of 29,173 got behind their DHL Stormers team – playing in special edition Mother’s Day jerseys – as the hosts launched a stirring fightback from 16-3 down.

Flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis kicked five penalties, one conversion and a drop-goal – 14 of his 20 points coming in the second half – with Vodacom Man of the Match Schalk Burger scoring his team’s only try of the night.

It was a brutal encounter between the DHL Stormers and the Brumbies, with the hosts showing great character after last weekend’s off-colour performance in Bloemfontein.

The DHL Stormers will enjoy a deserved bye next weekend, having moved back into first place on the SA Conference log and second on the overall Super Rugby standings, before picking up their campaign against the in-form Rebels at DHL Newlands on Saturday, May 23.

* CLICK HERE to purchase your tickets for the Rebels match, and beyond!

The scorers:

For the DHL Stormers:
Try: Burger
Con: Catrakilis
Pens: Catrakilis 5
DG: Catrakilis

For the Brumbies:
Tries: Tomane, Pocock
Con: Lealiifano
Pens: Lealiifano 3, Mogg

The teams:

DHL Stormers: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Johnny Kotze, 13 Juan de Jongh (vice-captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Huw Jones.

Brumbies: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Robbie Coleman, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Nic White, 8 Ita Vaea, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 JP Smith.
Replacements: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Allan Alaalatoa, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Jordan Smiler, 20 Jarrad Butler, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 James Dargaville, 23 Nigel Ah Wong.

Referee: Stuart Berry
Assistant referees: Jason Jaftha, Quinton Immelman
TMO: Shaun Veldsman