Moerat set for DHL Stormers debut in Dunedin

PUBLISHED: March 7, 2018

Lock Salmaan Moerat is set to make his DHL Stormers debut off the replacements bench against the Highlanders in Dunedin on Friday.

There are five changes to the DHL Stormers starting line-up and a further four on ther replacements bench for the encounter at the Forsyth Barr Stadium, which kicks off at 08h35 South African time on Friday.

The only change to the backline sees Dillyn Leyds move back to wing to make way for the returning Damian Willemse, with Seabelo Senatla ruled out due to a groin strain and JJ Engelbrecht providing cover among the replacements.

Up front Kobus van Dyk will start at blindside flank in the absence of Cobus Wiese, who is nursing a shoulder injury.

There is an all-new lock pairing in Jan de Klerk and Chris van Zyl, with JD Schickerling having returned home injured and both Pieter-Steph du Toit and the 20-year-old Moerat set to provide impact off the replacements bench. Du Toit is recovering from concussion and has been bracketed with George Whitehead.

The only change to the front row sees Stephen Kitshoff back in the starting XV, with JC Janse van Rensburg on the replacements bench.

DHL Stormers Head Coach Robbie Fleck said that his team will be going all-out to end their tour on a high.

“We have had some brave performances on this tour and the players are looking forward to the challenge in Dunedin against the Highlanders,” he said.

DHL Stormers: 15 SP Marais, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Jan de Klerk, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Ramone Samuels, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Dean Muir, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Pieter-Steph du Toit (George Whitehead), 21 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 22 Justin Phillips, 23 JJ Engelbrecht.