Libbok reaches DHL Stormers 50 in Paris

PUBLISHED: January 19, 2024

Manie Libbok will play his 50th DHL Stormers game in the Investec Champions Cup clash with Stade Francais in Paris on Saturday.

The Round Four encounter kicks off at 19h30 (SAST) at the Stade Jean Bouin, with the DHL Stormers looking to secure their place in the last 16.

Libbok reaches the milestone in what is just his third season with the DHL Stormers and will marshall a backline that features a number of changes from the combination that did duty in the win against Sale Sharks at DHL Stadium last week.

Damian Willemse is in midfield, with Dan du Plessis shifting to outside centre. Warrick Gelant is at fullback and forms an all-new back three with wings Angelo Davids and Ben Loader, while Suleiman Hartzenberg and scrumhalf Stefan Ungerer are among the replacements.

Hooker Joseph Dweba comes into the starting line-up, as do flank Willie Engelbrecht and No.8 Keke Morabe in the only changes to the starting pack.

Prop Kwenzo Blose and lock Hendre Stassen are also on a replacements bench that features the likes of hooker Andre-Hugo Venter, utility forward Ben-Jason Dixon and loose forward Hacjivah Dayimani.

Head Coach John Dobson was full of praise for Libbok, who has developed into a world-class player since arriving in Cape Town.

“Manie has been a revelation for us since joining in 2021 and he seems to get better and better. Hopefully he keeps going from strength to strength in a DHL Stormers jersey.

“We face tough opposition in challenging conditions this weekend, so we will have to step up and show that we can perform away from home to challenge for a place in the knock-out phase of the competition,” he said.

DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Angelo Davids, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Damian Willemse, 11 Ben Loader, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Keke Morabe, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Deon Fourie (captain), 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Sti Sithole.
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Brok Harris, 19 Hendre Stassen, 20 Ben-Jason Dixon, 21 Hacjivah Dayimani, 22 Stefan Ungerer, 23 Suleiman Hartzenberg.