Joubert and Walsh to oversee penultimate round of Super Rugby Finals Series

PUBLISHED: July 23, 2012

Sanzar has announced the referee appointments for the 2012 Super Rugby Semi-Finals, confirmed after the Super Rugby Qualifiers took place this weekend.

The Crusaders defeated the Bulls 28-13, while the Sharks beat the Reds 30-17, setting up two mouthwatering ‘knockout’ derbies in the New Zealand and South African Conference.

The New Zealand Conference winning Chiefs will host the Crusaders in Hamilton this Friday with Craig Joubert in the middle, while Steve Walsh will officiate the top-of-the-table Stormers and South African Conference champions versus the Sharks match the following evening in Cape Town.

Sanzar Game Manager Lyndon Bray said the appointments reflected the best referees being used at the business end of the competition.

“The coaches are part of our decision-making process at this time of year, and since 2009 we have had their support for ensuring that we select our best referees on merit, rather than based on neutrality. The coaches have been an integral part of endorsing the appointment of our referees in the Super Rugby Finals Series.”

Bray went on to say, “The four best referees have been selected on their performances this season for the Finals Series. The two best performing referees are now selected for the Semi-Final matches, and in the first instance they will go head to head for the Final. If the form of one referee who refereed the Qualifying Finals is considered on review to be better than the semifinal referees, then they are still considered in the mix for the Final.”

2012 Super Rugby Finals Series
Super Rugby Semi-Finals (Week Two of SRFS) dates, kick-off times and referees

Friday, 27 July, 2012

Chiefs v Crusaders

Waikato Stadium, Hamilton, New Zealand

Kick off (1935 local, 1935 NZT, 1735 NSW/ACT, 0935 SAT, 0735 GMT)

Referee Craig Joubert

AR Jonathan Kaplan

AR Keith Brown

TMO Garratt Williamson

Saturday, 28 July, 2012
Stormers v Sharks
DHL Newlands Stadium, Cape Town, South Africa
Kick-off (1705 local, 1505 GMT, Sun 29 Jul 0305 NZT, Sun 29 Jul 0105 NSW/ACT, 1705 SAT)
Referee Steve Walsh
AR Jaco Peyper
AR Marius Jonker
TMO Shaun Veldsman