Jean at centre for Investec Stormers

PUBLISHED: April 20, 2005

Schalk Burger is still injured and will not run out for the Investec Stormers against the Blues in their Super 12 match at Newlands this Saturday.

The Stormers coaching staff was hopeful that the flanker would be ready to play after sitting out last Saturday’s defeat to the Crusaders due to a calf injury.

Good news, however, is that another Springbok loose-forward, Joe van Niekerk, has recovered from his knee injury and he will take on the Blues. Van Niekerk suffered his injury on the overseas leg of the Stormers campaign, but was back on the training field this week.

Lock Quinton Davids was not so fortunate though. He injured his ankle against the Reds in the first home game after their tour. In his absence Rob Linde and beanpole Andries Bekker will resume their partnership in the second row.

No 8 Adri Badenhorst (knee) and fullback Werner Greeff (concussion) remain on the injury list with Davids. Word from the Stormers camp is that they will be receiving ongoing treatment and that their recovery would be closely monitored.

Coach Smal made four changes to the side that lost to the Crusaders. He moved Jean de Villiers from wing to outside centre. Marius Joubert drops down to the substitutes’ bench, with speedster Tonderai Chavhanga coming in on the wing.

Van Niekerk replaces Luke Watson at No 8, with the latter moving to the flank in place of Pietie Ferreira. The latter went back to the Lions after being drafted into the starting lineup last Saturday.

Hanyani Shimange is back at hooker in place of Pieter Dixon. Shimange has recovered from the rib trouble that kept him out of the previous two games.

Investec Stormers: 15 Gaffie du Toit, 14 Breyton Paulse, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 De Wet Barry (capt), 11 Tonderai Chavhanga, 10 Chris Rossouw, 9 Bolla Conradie, 8 Joe van Niekerk, 7 Gerrie Britz, 6 Luke Watson, 5 Rob Linde, 4 Andries Bekker, 3 Faan Rautenbach, 2 Hanyani Shimange, 1 Eddie Andrews.

Replacments: 16 Pieter Dixon, 17 Riaan Oclkers, 18 Ross Skeate, 19 David Hendricks, 20 Neil de Kock, 21 Marius Joubert, 22 Gus Theron.