Investec Stormers looking to bounce back

PUBLISHED: April 8, 2005

De Wet Barry says the Investec Stormers should just play to their potential against the Reds at Newlands on Saturday and they would be well on their way to erasing the bad memories of the past few weeks.

The tough-tackling midfielder will lead the Stormers for the first time in a Super 12 match and with his team under pressure after a bad run overseas, he will feel the pressure.

Barry, however, says the players should just focus on their own game and not worried too much about anything else.

“I won’t have a specific message for the guys, expect for saying that it is important that everybody focus on his own game. Every player must take responsibility for his own job.

“Everybody in any case knows exactly what is expected of him. If we play to our potential we will put up a good performance and we can silence the critics.”

Barry, however, does not disregard the claims to a win of the opposition. The Reds have been battling this season, but the Stormers’ new leader expects them to put up a fight.

“It doesn’t matter who the opposition is, there is no easy game in Super 12. They have had an up and down season, but that doesn’t mean they will be a walk in the park.

“They have a good team and some great individual players. We would have to be on top of our game to pull off a victory.”

Teams for Newlands:
Investec Stormers:

15 Werner Greeff, 14 Breyton Paulse, 13 Marius Joubert, 12 De Wet Barry (captain), 11 Jean de Villiers, 10 Chris Rossouw, 9 Bolla Conradie, 8 Adri Badenhorst (vice-captain), 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Luke Watson, 5 Gerrie Britz, 4 Quinton Davids, 3 Faan Rautenbach, 2 Pieter Dixon, 1 Eddie Andrews.


16 Lukas van Biljon, 17 JD Moller, 18 Rob Linde, 19 David Hendriks, 20 Neil de Kock, 21 Gaffie Du Toit, 22 Tonderai Chavhanga.


15 Chris Latham, 14 Wendell Sailor, 13 Junior Pelesasa, 12 Steve Kefu, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Julian Huxley, 9 Josh Valentine, 8 John Roe, 7 David Croft, 6 Tom McVerry, 5 Nathan Sharpe (captain), 4 Hugh McMeniman, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Nick Stiles (vice-captain).


16 Sean Hardman, 17 Rodney Blake, 18 Daniel Heenan, 19 Luke Doherty, 20 Nic Berry, 21 Brock James, 22 Peter Hynes.

Kick-off: 15.00.
Referee: Paul Honiss (New Zealand).