Horrell to join World XV in Cape Town

PUBLISHED: July 5, 2015

Chiefs utility back Andrew Horrell has been called up to the World XV squad for their match against the Springboks at DHL Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday, July 11.

Horrell, a two-time Vodacom Super Rugby champion with the Waikato-based team, replaces Crusaders flyhalf Tom Taylor, who has been called into the New Zealand training squad for their Test against Samoa.

***Tickets for the Springboks’ season-opener can be bought through Computicket, with prices starting at R100. Simply visit wprugby.computicket.com, Computicket outlets nationwide or call 0861 915 8000, the DHL Newlands ticket office and Shoprite & Checkers stores, or contact 021 659 4600 or visit www.wprugby.co.za***

He is the sixth New Zealander to be included in the World XV squad, which also includes Springbok legend Bakkies Botha, All Black tight forwards Carl Hayman and Ali Williams, and 10 players from three-time European champions Toulon.

The squad, coached by Robbie Deans and Bernard Laporte, assembles in Cape Town on Monday and they take on South Africa at DHL Newlands on Saturday, July 11 at 17h00.


Steffon Armitage (Toulon, England) – 5 caps
Bakkies Botha (Toulon, South Africa) – 85
Craig Burden (Toulon, South Africa) – Uncapped
Petrus du Plessis (Saracens) – Uncapped
Carl Hayman (Toulon, New Zealand) – 45
Louis-Benoit Madaule (Bordeaux-Begles) – Uncapped
Alexandre Menini (Toulon, France) – 6
David Roumieu (Bayonne) – Uncapped
Gurthrö Steenkamp (Toulouse, South Africa) – 53
Jordan Taufua (Crusaders) – Uncapped
Flip van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls, South Africa) – 35
Luke Whitelock (Crusaders, New Zealand) – 1
Ali Williams (Toulon, New Zealand) – 77

Delon Armitage (Toulon, England) – 26 caps
Luke Burgess (Melbourne Rebels, Australia) – 37
JJ Engelbrecht (Vodacom Blue Bulls, South Africa) – 12
Mike Harris (Queensland Reds, Australia) – 10
Andrew Horrell (Chiefs) – Uncapped
Maxime Machenaud (Racing Metro, France) – 16
Maxime Mermoz (Toulon, France) – 30
David Smith (Toulon) – Uncapped
Lachlan Turner (Queensland Reds, Australia) – 15
Rudi Wulf (Toulon, New Zealand) – 4