History in the making at DHL Newlands

PUBLISHED: August 3, 2012

The all-new Castle Rugby Championship will make an historic start on Saturday, August 18, 2012, with DHL Newlands playing its role in this brand-new tournament right from day one. Tickets are still available!

The first match of the Rugby Championship will take place earlier in the day – between the Wallabies and the All Blacks in Sydney – before attention switches to South Africa, or more specifically, Cape Town.

DHL Newlands will play host to the first-ever Rugby Championship match between the Pumas of Argentina and the Springboks of South Africa, which is also the first time that these two teams will lock horns in Cape Town, having met at five other venues on 13 previous occasions since 1993.

The Springboks, of course, will be under the leadership of DHL Stormers captain Jean de Villiers, the experienced centre having been handed the national captaincy for the rest of 2012 and he is likely to be joined by a number of other local players in the Bok side against Argentina.

Tickets are on sale at the DHL Newlands ticket office and are also available via the web, at www.ticketpros.co.za, ranging from R100 to R450; so snap yours up today to be part of the historic occasion, before it is too late.

The South Africa v Argentina, Castle Rugby Championship match kicks-off at 5.05pm on Saturday, August 18 at DHL Newlands.

South Africa’s test record v Argentina:

Played 13, won 13; points for 544, points against 272

Match results and venues:

Argentina 26 South Africa 29, 1993 – Buenos Aires
Argentina 23 South Africa 52, 1993 – Buenos Aires
South Africa 42 Argentina 22, 1994 – Port Elizabeth
South Africa 46 Argentina 26, 1994 – Johannesburg
Argentina 15 South Africa 46, 1996 – Buenos Aires
Argentina 21 South Africa 44, 1996 – Buenos Aires
Argentina 33 South Africa 37, 2000 – Buenos Aires
South Africa 49 Argentina 29, 2002 – Johannesburg
South Africa 26 Argentina 25, 2003 – Johannesburg
Argentina 7 South Africa 39, 2004 – Buenos Aires
Argentina 23 South Africa 34, 2005 – Buenos Aires
South Africa 37 Argentina 13, 2007 – Paris (RWC semifinal)
South Africa 63 Argentina 9, 2008 – Johannesburg