Four-try DHL Stormers see off Jaguares

PUBLISHED: February 13, 2016

The DHL Stormers scored four tries on their way to a morale-boosting 29-14 victory over a strong Jaguares outfit in their pre-season friendly at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

The match was the last outing before the DHL Stormers’ first game of the new Vodacom Super Rugby season againt the Vodacom Bulls at DHL Newlands on February 27.

The DHL Stormers got on the front foot early in the game and dominated territory and possession.

The Jaguares defence held out manfully, but the pressure told on the 20 minute mark when speedy wing Leolin Zas got on the end of a pinpoint grubber from fullback Dillyn Leyds to race over for the opening try which put the hosts 7-0 up at the first mini-break.

The visitors made a determined start to the second chukka, but the DHL Stormers defence held out well under pressure and they would be next to strike as Leyds glided through a gap on a switch from Huw Jones in midfield to score in the corner.

That saw the DHL Stormers take a 12-0 lead into the half-time break after an intense opening 40 minutes which showcased both their defensive and attacking capabilities.

The team from Argentina suffered another setback early in the second half when replacement Javier Ortega Desio was shown a yellow card for a dangerous tackle, and Robert du Preez kicked the resulting penalty to stretch the DHL Stormers’ lead to 15-0.

The Jaguares got on the board when replacement Santiago González Iglesias broke through the DHL Stormers defensive line to score under the poles.

The DHL Stormers made the ideal start to the final chukka as livewire Khanyo Ngcukana bounced off a few defenders to score under the poles and the conversion from Brandon Thompson took their lead out to 22-7.

The rest of the match was played out in the Jaguares half of the field as the DHL Stormers pushed hard for a fourth try, and it came when lock JD Schickerling crashed over to cap a flowing movement.

The Jaguares scored on the stroke of full-time, as No.8 Facundo Isa crashed over, but it was little more than a consolation

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Tries: Zas, Leyds, Ngcukana, Schickerling
Cons: Du Preez, Thompson 2
Pen: Du Preez

For Jaguares:
Tries: González Iglesias, Isa
Cons: Landajo 2


DHL Stormers: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Robert Du Preez, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr (captain), 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 JP Smith, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 JD Schickerling, 21 Jurie van Vuuren, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Michael Willemse, 24 Nic Groom, 25 Louis Schreuder, 26 Ryan Oosthuizen, 27 Khanyo Ngcukana, 28 Alistair Vermaak, 29 Brandon Thompson, 30 Rikus Bothma, 31 Godlen Masimla.

Jaguares: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Matías Orlando, 13 Matías Moroni, 12 Jerónimo De la Fuente, 11 Santiago Cordero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Facundo Isa, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6 Tomás Lezana, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustín Creevy (captain), 1 Santiago García Botta.
Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Cristian Bartoloni, 19 Felipe Arregui, 20 Santiago Iglesias Valdez, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Rodrigo Baez, 24 Emiliano Boffelli, 25 Tomás Carrio, 26 Gonzalo Bertranou, 27 Javier Ortega Desio,28 Leonardo Senatore, 29 Pablo Matera, 30 Guido Petti, 31 Ignacio Larrague, 32 Ramiro Herrera.

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen