Four new DHL Stormers in season-opener

PUBLISHED: February 15, 2018

Four players are set to make their DHL Stormers debut in the Vodacom Super Rugby season-opener against the Jaguares at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

The 2018 Vodacom Super Rugby season will get kick off at 15h05 on Saturday, when the DHL Stormers take on the Jaguares at DHL Newlands.

Raymond Rhule, Carlu Sadie, George Whitehead and JJ Engelbrecht are all set to make their first appearance for the DHL Stormers, with Rhule starting on the left wing and prop Sadie, flyhalf Whitehead and utility back Engelbrecht among the replacements.

Rhule forms part of a dynamic back three with Seabelo Senatla and Dillyn Leyds, while Damian de Allende and EW Viljoen link up in midfield outside the halfback pairing of Dewaldt Duvenage and Damian Willemse.

Captain Siya Kolisi is joined by Nizaam Carr and Cobus Wiese in the loose trio, with lock pairing JD Schickerling and Chris van Zyl starting behind an all-Springbok front row of Wilco Louw, Bongi Mbonambi and Steven Kitshoff.

DHL Stormers Head Coach Robbie Fleck said that his team is looking forward to getting the new season started at DHL Newlands.

“The squad has put in a lot of hard work in preparation for this game, so hopefully we will see that pay off on Saturday.

“It is always great to start the season in front of our loyal fans at DHL Newlands, so it should be another special occasion,” he said.

Tickets for the season-opener are available from online.computicket.com or any Computicket outlet and remain the same price as 2017.

2018 DHL Newlands season ticket-holders are urged to collect their new cards before Saturday from the WP Rugby offices in Bounday rd, Newlands.

DHL Stormers: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Kobus van Dyk, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 George Whitehead, 23 JJ Engelbrecht.