Five DHL Stormers in Vodacom URC Dream Team

PUBLISHED: June 8, 2022

There are five DHL Stormers in the Vodacom United Rugby Championship Dream Team for the 2021/22 season.

Following the addition of the Vodacom Bulls, Emirates Lions, Cell C Sharks and DHL Stormers to the competition for the inaugural URC campaign, South African franchises account for 10 members of a 15-man selection determined by a media vote.

The DHL Stormers are the best-represented side with five players making the cut. URC Top Try Scorer Leolin Zas is among four backs from the Cape Town outfit included. His teammates Warrick Gelant, Seabelo Senatla, Damian Willemse and Evan Roos all made the final selection.

The Vodacom Bulls contribute three players, including Ironman Ruan Nortje, and the Cell C Sharks with two.

Ulster duo Nick Timoney and James Hume, Leinster fly-half Ross Byrne and Munster scrum-half Craig Casey and second row Jean Kleyn make up the non-South African contingent.

Players had to have made a minimum of nine appearances to be considered, with the media panel given a shortlist of 10 players per position, provided by URC StatMaster. The player with the most votes in each position earned a place in the team.

Vodacom URC Dream Team

  1. Ox Nche (Cell C Sharks)
  2. Johan Grobbelaar (Vodacom Bulls)
  3. Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)
  4. Jean Kleyn (Munster)
  5. Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Bulls)
  6. Marcell Coetzee (Vodacom Bulls)
  7. Nick Timoney (Ulster)
  8. Evan Roos (DHL Stormers)
  9. Craig Casey (Munster)
  10. Ross Byrne (Leinster)
  11. Leolin Zas (DHL Stormers)
  12. Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers)
  13. James Hume (Ulster)
  14. Seabelo Senatla (DHL Stormers)
  15. Warrick Gelant (DHL Stormers)

Places in the Dream Team are the latest to be revealed as part of three weeks of URC Awards announcements.

Next-Gen Star of the Season will be announced later this week before Vodacom Fans’ Player of the Season, the Loch Lomond Coach of the Season and Players’ Player of the Season are revealed in the build-up to the Grand Final.

URC Award Winners List 2021-22

Tackle Machine: Alan O’Connor (Ulster)

Turnover King: Jac Morgan (Ospreys)

Gilbert Golden Boot: Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys)

Top Try Scorer: Leolin Zas (DHL Stormers)

Ironman: Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Bulls)