End of the road for DHL Stormers in Glasgow

PUBLISHED: June 8, 2024

The DHL Stormers fought hard in their Vodacom United Rugby Championship quarter-final, but two late tries saw Glasgow Warriors claim a 27-10 win at Scotstoun Stadium.

The game had been in the balance throughout, with the home side finishing strong to book their place in the semifinal against Munster next week.

The DHL Stormers got stuck into the home side from the word go, with some big tackles coming in from the start.

Both teams had two shots at goal in the first half, but both attempts from Manie Libbok went wide into the wind, while George Horne was able to convert.

The DHL Stormers had a great chance to score when a rolling grubber from Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu pinned Glasgow in the corner, but despite coming inches from the tryline from the resulting line-out, the home side managed to hold out.

As a result Glasgow took a 6-0 advantage into half-time, with the DHL Stormers set to play with the wind in the second half.

Having made an encouraging start after the break, the DHL Stormers were reduced to 14 when captain Salmaan Moerat was shown a yellow card for what was judged to be a dangerous tackle.

Despite that setback they came up with a try as Ben Loadr finished off a flowing backline move in the corner to bring his side within one point.

Glasgow scored their first try directly off the restart to make it 13-15, but the DHL Stormers kept pressing despite being down a man.

The pressure finally told and replacement scrumhalf Paul de Wet went over to bring them right back in it.

However, the home side would have the final say as two late tries secured the win and a semifinal place for them.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Tries: Loader, De Wet

For Glasgow Warriors:
Tries: Cancelliere, Venter, Fagerson
Cons: Horne 2
Pens: Horne 2

DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, 11 Ben Loader, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Ben-Jason Dixon, 6 Willie Engelbrecht, 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 Salmaan Moerat (captain), 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Brok Harris.
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Adre Smith, 20 Marcel Theunissen, 21 Connor Evans, 22 Paul de Wet, 23 Jean-Luc du Plessis.