DHL Stormers touring squad to Zimbabwe

PUBLISHED: January 26, 2017

DHL Stormers Head Coach Robbie Fleck has named a 35-man touring squad for the trip to Zimbabwe this weekend.

The extended squad will face the Toyota Cheetahs in their first warm-up game of the year in Harare on Saturday, with kick-off at 15h15.

The pre-season clash forms part of the Old Mutual Super Rugby Weekend which will be held at the National Sports Stadium in Harare, with the Vodacom Bulls taking on the Emirates Lions at the same venue.

This is yet another foray beyond South African borders and into the African continent for Western Province Rugby and a great opportunity for the DHL Stormers to stand together with their fans in Zimbabwe.

The match will feature rolling substitutions, which will give Fleck a good opportunity to take a look at a wide range of players, following a tough pre-season.

The DHL Stormers coach said that he hopes to see the hard work in pre-season pay off in what will be the first real chance for the players to show what they have to offer this season.

“We have changed the way we have approached our pre-season preparations, so I am looking forward to seeing the results of that out on the pitch in Harare.

“There is a lot of talent in this squad, so it is about translating that into some good rugby which will give us a good chance to reflect and see where we are at,” he said.

As Currie Cup champions, the Toyota Cheetahs are sure to present stern opposition in Zimbabwe, which is exactly what the DHL Stormers management is looking for as they build up to the start of the 2017 Vodacom Super Rugby campaign.

Following the match on Saturday, the squad will remain in Zimbabwe until Tuesday where they will conduct further training sessions and team-building exercises.

DHL Stormers touring squad to Zimbabwe: Juarno Augustus, Nizaam Carr, Jaco Coetzee, Kurt Coleman, Damian de Allende, Juan de Jongh, Dan du Plessis, Jean-Luc du Plessis, Rob du Preez, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Dewaldt Duvenage, Rynhardt Elstadt, Eben Etzebeth, JC Janse van Rensberg, Siya Kolisi, Cheslin Kolbe, Dillyn Leyds, Wilco Louw, Frans Malherbe, SP Marais, Godlen Masimla, Bongi Mbonambi, Khanyo Ngcukana, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Caylib Oosthuizen, Justin Phillips, Ramone Samuels, JD Shickerling, Chad Solomon, Brandon Thomson, Frans van Wyk, Chris van Zyl, Jano Vermaak, Cobus Wiese, Damian Willemse.